Schönsee, Bavaria, Germany Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Bavaria Wiki Topics
Neuschwanstein.JPG
Beginning Research
Record Types
Bavaria Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Germany
Bavaria
Upper Palatinate
Schönsee


History and Geography

Schonsee catholic church, germany.jpeg





Schönsee is located in eastern Bavaria, Germany. It is situated near the border of the Czech Republic, 38 km northeast of Schwandorf, and 34 km southeast of Weiden in der Oberpfalz.






  • In 1912, the town had 1331 inhabitants and its own Catholic parish. See Meyers Gazetteer for more details. There are several small town and villages associated with the parrish of Schonsee. They can be found listed with Schonsee in the Meyers Gazetteer.
  • Today, Schönsee is a town in the municipality of Schwandorf, in Bavaria, Germany. See Wikipedia
  • See the German GenWiki for a list of boundary and jurisdiction changes

Online Records

  • Heiratsbelege: Schönsee, 1862-1915 This link takes you to the FamilySearch Catalog list of microfilmed documents for civil records of marriage proclamations, marriage supplements, and permissions to change residence for Schönsee residents (BA. Oberviechtach), Bayern, Germany. They are arranged in alphabetical order according to the last name of the husband. Digitized films (camera icon) can be viewed at a family history center or affiliate library. Requests to digitize can be submitted for films not yet available online (microfilm icon). For more information about this record type see Bavaria Marriage Proclamation and Residency Records.
  • There is some Schönsee information at Find A Grave
  • Bavaria, Germany, WWI Personnel Rosters, 1914-1918 includes information on some soldiers from Schönsee on Ancestry.com
  • Various records can be found through the Meta-search tool on the website of the German Society for Computer Genealogy.

Civil Registration

Schonsee Germany Rathaus.JPG

The Standesamt (Civil Registration Office) at the Rathaus (Town Hall) has records back to around 1887. If you are seeking information concerning your family prior to that time it is necessary to go to church records.

The records they have are great and it is a good place to start. However, the person over vital records is not always there or always available to assist with research. It is important to contact them ahead of time to make an appointment.



Schönsee Standesamt
Hauptstraße 25
92539 Schönsee
Germany
Phone: 09674 / 9212-0
Fax: 09674 / 9212-29
info@vg-schoensee.de

Catholic Church Records

St. Wenceslaus Catholic Church

Some of the Catholic parish records are kept at the Catholic parsonage in Schönsee.

Katholisches Pfarramt St. Wenceslaus
Pfarrgasse 4
92539 Schönsee
Germany
Tel .: 09674/230
Website

Regensburg Catholic Archive

Many more records are available at the Archive in Regensburg.

Regensburg Bischöfliches Zentralarchiv - for most of Oberpfalz
St.Petersweg 11-13
D-93047 Regensburg
Germany

  • List of parish registers This link takes you to a listing of the records available on microfiche at the Regensburg Catholic Archive. It is organized in alphabetical order of the towns and villages in the diocese. It also tells you what kind of documents are available in which years. It is good to know that Taufen means baptisms, Trauungen means marriages, and Beerdigungen means burials.
  • Information for requesting research by the archive for a fee.
  • The archive will do genealogical research for you. Requests can be made by mail or email. The fee for genealogical research is Euros 35.00 per half an hour plus postage.


The records in the Regensburg Catholic Archive are on microfiche which takes time and patience to read. It is necessary to make an appointment to use a film reader. There is a 7 Euro fee per day per person to do research and a charge per document you have copied.(I think we paid about 8 Euros per page) This can add up to an expensive way to gather information, however, you can just take a pencil (not an ink pen) and paper and write down what you find. The people that work there don't usually have much time to assist you....so go planning on spending the first half of the day just figuring out how to use their system. Also, if you complete your research at the end of the day they may not be able to have the documents you need copied until the next day. You can return the next day to pick them up or you can pay them to mail them to your home.

Lutheran Church Records

Bavaria was and is predominantly Catholic. If your ancestors lived in Schönsee, there is a chance they affiliated with the Catholic church because of the prohibitive distance to a Lutheran church. (There is not a Lutheran Church in Schnösee.) However, if you do not find them in Catholic records, you should search the Lutheran records.

  • According to Meyer's Gazetteer, the only close Lutheran church in 1871 was Neunburg vorm Wald, about a 28 km journey.
PARISH OFFICE NEUNBURG VORM WALD
Bahnhofstrasse 3
92431 Neunburg
Tel: 0967291350
Fax: 0967291352
E-Mail: pfarramt@neunburg-evangelisch.de
Website
FamilySearch Catalog lists church records, which are currently on microfilm and should be digitized by 2020.
  • Today, Schönsee is served by the parish of Oberveichtach, about a 12 km journey.
PARISH OFFICE OBERVIECHTACH
Road: Martin Luther Street 4
City: 92526 Oberviechtach
Tel: 096711533
Fax: 09671918408
Church website
FamilySearch Catalog, digitized marriage records 1860-1862, can be searched at a Family History Center.
FamilySearch Catalog, digitized marriage records 1897-1912, can be searched at a Family History Center.

These records have slight restrictions and must be searched at a Family History Center’ near you rather in your own home.

Cemeteries

There is a beautifully kept cemetery in Schönsee just down the street from the Catholic Church. If you want to find information on your ancestors in a cemetery, keep in mind that in most Bavarian cemeteries the grave plots are re-used as often as every 25 years. (sometimes 50 -100 years). However, there are a few tombstones back into the 1700's there. If you have family from one of the small villages near this town and you cannot find a cemetery there, check out Schönsee. Dietersdorf and Schwand are among those places that use the Schönsee parish church and cemetery.
The four cemeteries of Schönsee, Gaisthal, Stadlern and Weiding are within the jurisdiction of the administrative community of Schönsee.