Scarcliffe, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to Scarcliffe, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Mansfield|
|Parish registers: 1727|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1665|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
SCARCLIFFE (St. Leonard), a parish, in the union of Mansfield, hundred of Scarsdale, N. division of the county of Derby, 6 miles (N. N. W.) from Mansfield. 
Scarcliffe St Leonard is an Ancient Parish.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
This area was in the Mansfield registration district from 1837; for registration district history Mansfield registration district
Church records[edit | edit source]
Scarcliffe parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's = FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|Scarcliffe St Leonard (1727) Parish Online Records|
Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1665-1868 Mar 1665-1835 Burials 1665-1865 Missing Bap/Bur 1836, 1853/1854
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Websites[edit | edit source]
Scarcliffe on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 26-30. Date accessed: 27 May 2013.