Saxthorpe, Norfolk Genealogy
Guide toSaxthorpe, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Aylsham|
|Parish registers: 1559|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1601|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich|
|Location of Archive|
|Norfolk Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
SAXTHORPE (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Aylsham, hundred of South Erpingham, E. division of Norfolk, 5 miles (N. N. E.) from Reepham. 
Saxthorpe St Andrew is an ancient parish in the Diocese of Norwich
Saxthorpe has an entry in the Domesday Book of 1085. In the great book Saxthorpe is recorded by the name ‘’Sastorp’’, “Saxiorp” and “Saxthorp” it is said to be in the ownership of the King and in the custardy of Godric, Count Alan and Ribralt from him. The survey also notes that there are 50 goats, 20 cattle and 4 cobs.
The Parish Church of Saint Andrew was constructed in 1482 by the lord of the manor although chancel and tower are thought to be older. The church has a 15th century screen with tracery above panels which are decorated with flowers and foliage. The beams of the north aisle roof have a boss with a grinning lion carving. The altar rail is carved with pillars and balusters and date from the 17th century. The church is a Grade I listed building.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Saxthorpe, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free|
|FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free|
|TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free|
|Saxthorpe, Norfolk Genealogy Online Parish Records|
This parish's registers do not appear at FamilySearch Historical Records as no microfilm for the parish is held.
Norfolk Record Office reference PD 429
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Genealogy From Periodicals
[edit | edit source]
Page, BA. Raymond A. The Page Family In Norfolk - The Page's of Walcot, Acle Ormesby. History and family tree of Henry Page of Walcot Acle with the following surnames, Hexam, Watts, Goodwin, Warde, Bullocke, Short, Jacks, Bennet, Brown, Page, Goose, Worts, Greenacre and Appleton, with reference to South Walsham, St. Mary 1629, Acle, Walcot, Ormesby and Saxthorpe. Article has dates from 1422-1707, and is found in The Norfolk Ancestor, old series, vol. 2,pt.11 page 151-153, Family History Library Ref. 942.61 B2j vol. 2,pt11.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Registration Districts[edit | edit source]
Registration events after 1837 may be searched online at Free BMD
- Aylsham 1837-1938
- Norwich Outer 1939-1974
Probate Jurisdictions[edit | edit source]
Maps[edit | edit source]
External Links[edit | edit source]
- Norfolk: Saxthorpe on GenUKI
- Saxthorpe Corpusty on Seven Churches
- Saxthorpe on Norfolk
- British History online
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 23-26. Date accessed: 20 May 2013.
- 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.