Saxby All Saints, Lincolnshire Genealogy
Guide to Saxby All Saints, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Saxby All Saints, Lincolnshire|
Saxby All Saints Lincolnshire
|Poor Law Union||Glanford Brigg|
|Registration District||Glanford Brigg|
|Parish registers: 1719|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1561|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Lincolnshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
The church of All Saints was rebuilt in 1848; the original church on the site is thought to be mediaeval. The present church was designed by George Gilbert Scott.
This North Lincolnshire parish should not be confused with Saxby by Owmby, Lincolnshire or other villages elsewhere in England with the same name.
SAXBY (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Glandford-Brigg, N. division of the wapentake of Yarborough, parts of Lindsey, county of Lincoln, 5 miles (S. W.) from Barton-upon-Humber.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
This parish was in the Barton sub-district of Glanford Brigg registration district Glanford Brigg registration district
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Saxby All Saints parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Saxby All Saints Online Parish Records|
|FMP Marr Index||1700-1837|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Lincolnshire Archives.
The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Saxby All Saints Par 1 will identify available images.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 02 September 2013.