Sawyer County, Wisconsin Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Wisconsin
Sawyer County


Guide to Sawyer County, Wisconsin ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Hayward
Organized: March 13, 1883
Parent County(s): Ashland, Chippewa[1]
Neighboring Counties
Ashland  • Barron  • Bayfield  • Douglas  • Price  • Rusk  • Washburn
See County Maps
Courthouse
North Wisconsin Lumber Company Office.JPG
Location Map
WI Sawyer.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for Philetus Sawyer. The County has Hayward as its seat and the County was created 1885. The County is located in the northwest area of the state. [2]

County Courthouse

Sawyer County Courthouse
10610 Main
PO Box 273
Hayward, WI 54843
Phone: 715-634-4866
Sawyer County Website

Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, death, burial, divorce, probate, court and land records.[3]

Sawyer County, Wisconsin Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1869 1883 1883 1883 1883 1900 1820
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1907. General compliance year unknown.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1883--Sawyer County was created 13 March 1883 from Ashland and Chippewa Counties but not yet fully organized. Attached to Ashland County.
  • 1885--Sawyer County fully organized on 9 March 1885.
  • County seat: Hayward[5]

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Sawyer County, Wisconsin:

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Sawyer County, Wisconsin online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Wisconsin Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1890 1,977
1900 3,593 81.7%
1910 6,227 73.3%
1920 8,243 32.4%
1930 8,878 7.7%
1940 11,540 30.0%
1950 10,323 −10.5%
1960 9,475 −8.2%
1970 9,670 2.1%
1980 12,843 32.8%
1990 14,181 10.4%
2000 16,196 14.2%
2010 16,557 2.2%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing Sawyer census records online, see: Wisconsin Census.

State Census

Federal Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Wisconsin denominations, view the Wisconsin Church Records wiki page.

First Congregational Church Church, Hayward

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Wisconsin Land and Property for additional information about early Wisconsin land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Maps and Gazetteers

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Sawyer served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Sawyer:

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Sawyer Clerk of Circuit Court and are housed at the Sawyer Courthouse. See the wiki page Wisconsin Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, and adoptions.

Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

Wisconsin tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned property or other items that could be taxed were listed, some residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records. For more information see the Wiki page, Wisconsin Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Most counties started keeping records in the 1870s. In 1907, the counties began sending copies to the state.

For pre-1907 births, deaths, and marriages, search the Wisconsin Genealogy Index.

For additional information, see Wisconsin Vital Records.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

  • History Center and Archives, Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center
    Wisconsin Historical Society
    29270 County Highway G
    Ashland, WI 54806-9339
    Phone: 715-685-2647
    Email: whsnorthwoods@whs.wisc.edu
    Website


Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

  • Sawyer County Historical Society
    PO Box 384
    Hayward, WI 54843
    Phone: 715-634-6075
    Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Sawyer County, Wisconsin " in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sawyer_County,_Wisconsin."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Sawyer County, Wisconsin. Page 755-760, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 757-759.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.