Sauk County, Wisconsin Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Wisconsin
Sauk County

Guide to Sauk County Wisconsin ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Sauk County, Wisconsin
Map
Map of Wisconsin highlighting Sauk County
Location in the state of Wisconsin
Map of the U.S. highlighting Wisconsin
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 11, 1840
County Seat Baraboo
Courthouse
Address Sauk County Courthouse
505 Broadway
Baraboo, WI 53913
Phone (608) 356-45581
Sauk County Website


County Information

Sauk County, Wisconsin Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1864 1844 1840 1844 1847


Historical Facts

Parent County

1840--Sauk County was created 11 January 1840 fromCrawford, Dane and Portage Counties.
County seat: Baraboo [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places / Localities

Populated Places

WI SAUK.JPG

Plain


in, WI ~ Genealogies of families that immigrated to Sauk County, Wisconsin

Neighboring Counties

Adams  • Columbia  • Dane  •  Iowa  • Juneau  • Richland  • Vernon

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
WIGenWeb Archives WorldCat Billion Graves
Interment
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Wisconsin Cemeteries for more information.

Census

  • 1855 - 1855 Wisconsin State Census This census includes name of head of family; other individuals in the household are identified by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.
  • 1865 - 1865 Wisconsin State Census Name index and images of the 1865 State Census which names the head of household. Most records have been destroyed but schedules exist for the following counties: Dunn, Green, Jackson, Kewaunee, Ozaukee, and Sheboygan.
  • 1875 - 1875 Wisconsin State Census Identifies head of household by name.
  • 1885 - Wisconsin State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch — index and images. Search indexed census.  Identifies by name of head of household.  Other information is statistical and identifies the rest of the household by race, gender and country of birth.
  • 1895 - Wisconsin State Census, 1895 at FamilySearch — index and images. Identifies head of household by name. Other information is statistical.
  • 1905 - Wisconsin State Census, 1905 at FamilySearch — Name index and images of population. Enumerates by name all inhabitants.

Church History and Records

Lutheran

St. John's Lutheran Church, Reedsburg

  • Records of St. John's Lutheran Church, Reedsburg, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Zion Lutheran Church, Rock Springs

  • Records of Zion Lutheran Church, Rock Springs, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court Records

Register of Deeds

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Germans

Gazetteers

Genealogy

Plain History Genealogy Group
Website
E-mail: garylhaas2005@yahoo.com

This group meets the second Saturday of January, March, May, September, November. The July meeting is held the third Saturday of the month. The meeting is held at the Kraemer Library and Community Center.

This group has access to unique genealogical and historical information sources.

History

Land and Property

Maps

Migration

Military History and Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Sauk County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Sauk County.

- 1st Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company F
- 2nd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company E
- 3rd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company F
- 6th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company A
- 9th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company D
- 11th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Companies F and H
- 12th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Companies B and E
- 14th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company K

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Records

Repositories

See also a List of Wisconsin Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives, Libraries and Museums
County Courthouse
Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Societies

Sauk County Historical Society
PO Box 651
Baraboo, WI 53913
Telephone: 606-752-5891
Website

Saukville Historical Society
200 N Mill St
Saukville 53080
Website

Sauk County Historical Museum
531 4th Ave, Baraboo, WI 53913
Telephone: 608-356-1001
Website

Friendship Rural School Historical Society
E6404 Cold Springs Rd
Loganville, WI 53943
Telephone: 608-727-2941

Old Franklin Township Historical Society
PO Box 218, Plain WI 53577
Telephone: 608-546-2395
E-mail:mailto:pioneerlogvillage@yahoo.com
Website

Reedsburg Area Historical Society
PO Box 405
Reedsburg, WI 53959
Telephone: 608-727-2922
Website

Plain History Genealogy Group
910 Main St.
Plain, Wisconsin 53577
Telephone: 608-546-4201 (FAX also)
E-mail:askus@kraemerlibrary.org
Website

Plain History Genealogy Group meets the second Saturday of January, March, May, September, November. The July meeting is held the third Saturday of the month. The meeting is held at the Kraemer Library and Community Center.

This group has access to unique genealogical and historical information sources.

Taxation

Vital Records

Birth Records
Marriage Records
Divorce Records
Death Records

Voting Registers

Websites

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).