Sauk County, Wisconsin Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Sauk County, Wisconsin)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Wisconsin
Sauk County


Guide to Sauk County, Wisconsin ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Baraboo
Organized: January 11, 1840
Parent County(s): Crawford, Dane, Portage[1]
Neighboring Counties
Adams  • Columbia  • Dane  • Iowa  • Juneau  • Richland  • Vernon
See County Maps
Courthouse
Sauk County Courthouse WI.jpg
Location Map
WI Sauk.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County has Baraboo as its seat and the County was created 1844. The County is located in the southwest area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Sauk County Courthouse
505 Broadway
Baraboo, WI 53913
Phone (608) 356-45581
Sauk County Website

Register of Deeds has birth records from 1860, marriage records from 1850, death records from 1870 and land records.
Clerk of the Circuit Court has divorce and court records.
Register in Probate has probate records.[3]

Sauk County, Wisconsin Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1860 1850 1870 1844 1844 1847 1820
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1907. General compliance year unknown.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

  • Plain

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Sauk County, Wisconsin online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Wisconsin Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1840 102
1850 4,371 4185.3%
1860 18,963 333.8%
1870 23,860 25.8%
1880 28,729 20.4%
1890 30,575 6.4%
1900 33,006 8.0%
1910 32,869 −0.4%
1920 32,548 −1.0%
1930 32,030 −1.6%
1940 33,700 5.2%
1950 38,120 13.1%
1960 36,179 −5.1%
1970 39,057 8.0%
1980 43,469 11.3%
1990 46,975 8.1%
2000 55,225 17.6%
2010 61,976 12.2%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing Sauk census records online, see: Wisconsin Census.

  • 1855 - 1855 Wisconsin State Census This census includes name of head of family; other individuals in the household are identified by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.
  • 1865 - 1865 Wisconsin State Census Name index and images of the 1865 State Census which names the head of household. Most records have been destroyed but schedules exist for the following counties: Dunn, Green, Jackson, Kewaunee, Ozaukee, and Sheboygan.
  • 1875 - 1875 Wisconsin State Census Identifies head of household by name.
  • 1885 - Wisconsin State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch — index and images. Search indexed census.Identifies by name of head of household. Other information is statistical and identifies the rest of the household by race, gender and country of birth.
  • 1895 - Wisconsin State Census, 1895 at FamilySearch — index and images. Identifies head of household by name. Other information is statistical.
  • 1905 - Wisconsin State Census, 1905 at FamilySearch — Name index and images of population. Enumerates by name all inhabitants.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Wisconsin denominations, view the Wisconsin Church Records wiki page.

Lutheran
St. John's Lutheran Church, Reedsburg

  • Records of St. John's Lutheran Church, Reedsburg, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Zion Lutheran Church, Rock Springs

  • Records of Zion Lutheran Church, Rock Springs, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Wisconsin Land and Property for additional information about early Wisconsin land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Maps and Gazetteers

Adams CountyJuneau CountyVernon CountyRichland CountyIowa CountyDane CountyColumbia CountyWI SAUK.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Sauk served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Sauk:

- 1st Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company F
- 2nd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company E
- 3rd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company F
- 6th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company A
- 9th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company D
- 11th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Companies F and H
- 12th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Companies B and E
- 14th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company K

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Sauk Clerk of Circuit Court and are housed at the Sauk Courthouse. See the wiki page Wisconsin Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, and adoptions.

Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

Wisconsin tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned property or other items that could be taxed were listed, some residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records. For more information see the Wiki page, Wisconsin Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Most counties started keeping records in the 1870s. In 1907, the counties began sending copies to the state.

For pre-1907 births, deaths, and marriages, search the Wisconsin Genealogy Index.

For additional information, see Wisconsin Vital Records.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

  • Archives - Steenbock Library
    University of Wisconsin, Madison
    425 Steenbock Library
    550 Babcock Dr.
    Madison, WI 53706
    Telephone: 608-262-5629
    Email

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

  • Archives - Steenbock Library
    University of Wisconsin, Madison
    425 Steenbock Library
    550 Babcock Dr.
    Madison, WI 53706
    Telephone: 608-262-5629
    Email

Museums

  • Sauk County Historical Museum
    531 4th Ave
    Baraboo, WI 53913
    Phone: 608-356-1001
    Website

Societies

  • Sauk County Historical Society
    PO Box 651
    Baraboo, WI 53913
    Phone: 606-752-5891
    Website
  • Saukville Historical Society
    200 N Mill St
    Saukville, WI 53080
    Website
  • Friendship Rural School Historical Society
    E6404 Cold Springs Rd
    Loganville, WI 53943
    Phone: 608-727-2941
  • Old Franklin Township Historical Society
    PO Box 218, Plain WI 53577
    Phone: 608-546-2395
    Email: pioneerlogvillage@yahoo.com
    Website
  • Reedsburg Area Historical Society
    PO Box 405
    Reedsburg, WI 53959
    Phone: 608-727-2922
    Website
  • Plain History Genealogy Group
    910 Main St.
    Plain, WI 53577
    Phone: 608-546-4201 (FAX also)
    Email: askus@kraemerlibrary.org
    Email: garylhaas2005@yahoo.com
    Website
    Plain History Genealogy Group meets the second Saturday of January, March, May, September, November. The July meeting is held the third Saturday of the month. The meeting is held at the Kraemer Library and Community Center. This group has access to unique genealogical and historical information sources.

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Sauk County, Wisconsin " in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sauk_County,_Wisconsin."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Sauk County, Wisconsin. Page 755-760, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 757-759.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.