Sauherad (Saude) Parish, Telemark, Norway Genealogy
Guide to Sauherad, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
| Sauherad (Saude) Parish | |
|---|---|
| Jurisdictions | |
| Stift/Bispedømme/ Diocese |
add here |
| Prosti | add here |
| Len 1599-1660 | Bratsberg |
| Amt 1689-1919 | 1660-1919: Bratsberg |
| Fylke 1919-Present | Telemark |
| Region | add here |
| Prestegjeld | Saude |
| Kommune | add here |
| Skifteretten | add here |
| Tinglag | Saude |
| Fogderi | Nedre Telemarken |
| Sorenskriveri | Nedre Telemarken |
| Skipreide | add here |
Contents
Church Records[edit | edit source]
- Sauherad clerical district contains parish registers from the parishes Sauherad (Saude) and Nes. Those from 1649-1912 are available on microfilm at the Family History Library.
- The following church books are online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
Census Records[edit | edit source]
- 1664-1666 Clerical Census: This census was taken by the local parish priests. It covers Sauherad clerical district and includes Nes parish and Saude (Sauherad) parish. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Scanned images are online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- 1664-1666 Civil Census: This census was taken by the civil authorities. It covers Sauherad clerical district and includes Nes parish and Saude (Sauherad) parish. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Scanned images are online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- 1782: A special 1782 census for Sauherad clerical district, included Nes parish and Saude (Sauherad) parish, exists and a searchable database used to be available online at Digitalakrivet (Digital Archives), but was removed when the website was changed. When they re-add it a link will be provided here.
- 1801: The 1801 census for Sauherad clerical district and included Nes parish and Saude (Sauherad) parish. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. A searchable database is online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives)
- 1801 Norway Census, 1801 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images; also at Ancestry ($), MyHeritage ($)
- 1865: The 1865 census for Sauherad clerical district and included Nes parish and Saude (Sauherad) parish. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. A searchable database is online at Digitalarkivet.
- 1865 Norway Census, 1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images; also at Ancestry ($), MyHeritage ($)
- 1865 Norway Census, 1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images; also at Ancestry ($), MyHeritage ($)
- 1875: The 1875 census for Sauherad clerical district and included Nes parish and Saude (Sauherad) parish. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- 1875 Norway Census, 1875 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images; also at Ancestry ($), MyHeritage ($)
- 1891: The 1891 census for Sauherad clerical district and included Nes parish and Saude (Sauherad) parish. It is available in a searchable database at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- 1891 Norway Census, 1891 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images; also at Ancestry ($), MyHeritage ($)
- 1900: The 1900 census for Sauheradclerical district and included Nes parish and Saude (Sauherad) parish. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- 1910: The 1910 census for Sauherad is available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- The census of 1865, 1875, 1900 and 1910 are also available at the Norwegian Historical Data Center.
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Land Records[edit | edit source]
Farm Books[edit | edit source]
Kirkeby, Birger,Bygdebok for Sauherad, gards og ættesoge, Sayherad, 1980-1988. A genealogy of the people and their farms in Sauherad in Telemark county, Norway. FHL 948.27/S6 D2s A farm name index to this book is found in the following link. File:948.27-S6 D2s - SAUHERAD.pdf
 |
The farm name index referenced above includes many more names than the list below. |
Farm Names[edit | edit source]
The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:
5 Aanaas 9 Aase 59 Aasjordet 60 Akkerhaugen 36 Angaard 28 Arud
63 Baanhus 39 Bolaakeren 27 Bolvik 56 Bonkholt 2 Braakensrud 48 Braarud
10 Dale 44 Dale 58 Deilrind 2 Dragkaasa
61 Edingsaas Midgaard 27 Eidang
19 Farvolden 28 Flaata 62 Flaatene 15 Flathus 53 Flathus lille
35 Gaathaug 51 Gripenstad
27 Hagen 52 Haug 31 Haugholt 39 Haukedalen 2 Haukevik 16 Hegna 56 Hegna 59 Hegna 63 Hestaas 37 Hjukse 47 Hofsrud 38 Hogsrud 4 Holta 63 Holtan 25 Holte 10 Holterydningen 9 Holtet 7 Hvaala nedre 45 Hvannes 35 Hyni 41 Hæm
36 Ingulsrud
56 Johanskaas
18 Kaasa 43 Kaasa 59 Kaasa 34 Kallejord 26 Kiken 29 Kleiverud 16 Klev 46 Klever 55 Kuslungen
3 Landsværk 2 Lien 36 Lien 58 Linneflaata 27 Lystang 41 Løkken 44 Løkken 12 Løvold vestre
4 Mjaagekjønstykket 8 Moen 45 Moen
45 Neset 17 Noragutu 4 Nykaas og Veien
1 Ottersnes
58 Pilebakke 6 Pinknap 50 Pladsene 49 Præstegaarden
46 Ramsvik 54 Rinde 14 Rogholt 44 Rui 4 Ryntvet 32 Røstet
54 Sauer vestre 50 Sauer østre 9 Skeiet 57 Skobba 35 Skogen 9 Skotbakken 11 Smedsvaalen 24 Stenningen 18 Sunde lille 21 Sundsvaala 16 Svalestuen 30 Sørgaarden
56 Tangen 33 Teigen og Jønsi 23 Tveiten 22 Tveiten lille
40 Uleberg
2 Valenes 57 Vegem Midgaard 64 Vilhus Skov 27 Voltvet
20 Øen 61 Øen
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Nedre Telemark judicial district
*1667-1834 Family History Library
*1667-1834 Digitalarkivet
Telemark and Bamble deanery
*1696-1806 Family History Library
*1696-1806 Digitalarkivet
