To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Saude (Sauda) Parish, Rogaland, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Saude, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records

Saude (Sauda) Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/Diocese add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Stavanger
Amt 1689-1919 1662-1682: Stavanger stiftamt,
1682-1919: Stavanger amt
Fylke 1919-Present Rogaland
Region add here
Prestegjeld Sandnes
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Sand, Sauda
Fogderi Ryfylke
Sorenskriveri Ryfylke
Skipreide add here


Church Records[edit | edit source]

There are records for Sauda 1778 to 1916 at the Family History Library. Sauda was separated from Suldal clerical district in 1858. Earlier church records for Sauda parish were lost in a fire in 1794. Sauda is now in Sand clerical district.

Digital images of the church books are available at Digitalarkivet.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

This census was taken by the local parish priests. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. Both censuses should be searched as they supplement each other. This clerical census is more complete.

Fogdernes og sorenskrivernes manntall 1664-1666 Sand Microfilm

This census was taken by the local civil authorities. It lists the names of the farms, farmowners (including widows), sons of farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and sons of cottagers and the age of each person. The clerical authorities took a census during this same time period. Both censuses should be used as they supplement each other. The clerical census is more complete.

Manntall 1663-66 for Stavanger amt II Database

  • 1701 Census (Manntall)

Manntall 1701 Suldal Microfilm

The census of 1701 was taken for military purposes. It lists only the males living in rural districts who were over the age of one year. It includes the farm name, name and age of the owner, names and ages of sons and servants. Also includes the residence of all unmarried males living away from home when the census was taken.

Manntallet 1701 for Stavanger amt Database

  • 1801 Census (Folketellingen)

Folketellingen den 1ste februar 1801 for Suldal Microfilm

The 1801 census (b. 38) for Suldal clerical district includes Suldal, Saude, and Røldalnow in Hordaland county parishes. It lists the farm name, person's name, position in the household, age, marital status, and occupation.

1801-telling for Saledahl Database

  • 1865 Census (Folketellingen)

Folketælling 31 December 1865 for Sand Microfilm

This census contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, martial status, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book.

1865-telling for Sand Database

  • 1875 Census (Folketellingen)

Folketellingen for kongeriket Norge den 31te desember 1875 for Sand Microfilm

This 1875 census contains the persons name, whether resident or temporary resident, those absent from the parish and their location at the time of the census, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information.

  • 1900 Census (Folketellingen)

Folketellingen for Norge den 3dje desember 1900 for Sand Microfilm

This census contains the persons name, whether resident or temporary resident, those absent from the parish, and their location at the time of the census, position in the family, marital status, occupation, date of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information.

1900-telling for Saude Database

  • 1910 Census (Folketellingen]

[[1]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

For 1666-1795 the probates are in the combined Ryfylke and Karmsund judicial district.
For 1786-1876 they are found in Ryfylke judicial district.
The clerical probates for 1729-1807 are found in Ryfylke deanery deanery. `

Availability[edit | edit source]

Ryfylke og Karmsund judicial district
*1666-1795 Family History Library
*1666-1795 Digitalarkivet
*1666-1788 Probate card indexes sorted by farm name Digitalarkivet

Ryfylke judicial district
*1786-1876 Family History Library
*1786-1876 Digitalarkivet

Ryfylke deanery
*1786-1807 Clerical probate records Family History Library
*1786-1807 Digitalarkivet.

Sauda police station
*1875-1931 death protocol Digitalarkivet

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

A genealogy of the people and their farms in Sauda. Lillehammer, Arnvid, "Soga om Sauda," Sauda : Sauda kommune, 1973- . 948.31/S7 D2L 3 vols. FHL INTL Book

Index to: "Soga om Sauda" (v. 1 and 2 Gardar og ætter) / Arnvid Lillehammer. or (alternate title) "Sauda: personregister til Sauda gardar og ætter". Waula, Jørg Eirik, "Sauda gardar og ætter personregister," Stavanger, Norway: Rogaland Historie og Ættesogelag, 1995. 948.31/S7 D2L v. 1&2 index FHL INTL Book

Soga om Sauda:  Hustveit, Storskjer, Haugen og Nygård, Honganvik, Varstad, Svandalen, Øye, Eikesås, Kjerringtveit, Djuv, Svandal, Kvamen og Øygarden, Lindvoll, Mosbakka, Veka, Saua, Hedlot, Hovland med Bordvik, Risvoll, Nes, Fosstveit, Litlarød, Amdalstveit, Amdal, Amdalsrød, Hustveit, Storskjer, Haugen og Nygård, Honganvik, Varstad, Svandalen, Øye,Fløgstad, Hølland, Espeland, Bakka, Åbø, Brekke, Teig, Gunnarsrød, Kristens bruk, Navars bruk, Herheim, Austarheim, Fiveland, Løyning, Storli, Øverland, Årtun, Handeland, Indre Birkeland, Ytre Birkeland, Søndenå,Ramsnes og Solheim, Kviå, Maldal, Vetrhus, Indre Molla, Ytre Molla, Mollatvei, Ropeid, Ytre Selland, Østabø, Tysseland, Rørvikjå, Ås, Ilstad, Tjelmeland, Vestre og Austre Fattnes med Steinsland, Drarvikjå, Løland, Fattland, Ytre og Indre Vanvik, Ørland, Ytreog Indre Bjerga, Tengesdal, Indre Selland, Lingvong, Hylen

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

32 Aabø, 42 Aartun, 26 Amdal, 27 Amdalsrød, 25 Amdalstveit, 37 Austareim

31 Bakke, 42 Berdalen, 44 Birkeland indre, 7 Borviken, 33 Brekke

9 Eikesaas, 46 Enge, 30 Espeland

38 Fiveland, 28 Fløgstad, 23 Fosstveit

14 Gjerde, 11 Gjuv, 31 Gjuvet, 31 Gjuvshaugen, 35 Gunnarsrød

43 Handeland, 5 Hanganvik, 3 Haugen, 39 Haugen, 46 Havnen, 19 Hellot, 36 Hereim, 20 Hovland, 1 Hustveit, 29 Hølleland,

10 Kjerringtveit, 42 Klovsteinsbeitet, 12 Kvammen, 13 Kvammen nedre, 49 Kvien

14 Lindvold, 39 Løining, 37 Løiningsøen,

50 Maldal, 36 Moatræet, 52 Molde indre ,54 Moldetveit, 15 Mosbakke

22 Nes, 22 Nesøren, 4 Nygaard, 31 Nyslaatt

47 Ramsnes, 47 Ramsvik, 21 Risvold, 24 Rød lille

18 Saude, 18 Saudesjøen, 36 Skei, 40 Storli, 2 Storskjær, 42 Storstue, 12 Svandal, 37 Sølberg, 46 Søndenaa

34 Teig

22 Urebøen

6 Varstadneset, 16 Veke, 51 Vetrhus

37 Øen, 8 Øie, 41 Øverland

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names