Saskatchewan, Canada Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Saskatchewan Genealogy)
Jump to: navigation, search
Saskatchewan Research Topics
Saskatchewan Flag.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Saskatchewan Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Canada
Saskatchewan

Guide to Saskatchewan ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.


Saskatchewan Information

Saskatchewan is a prairie and boreal province in Canada. It's the only province with all man-made borders.

History

The first permanent European settlement was a Hudson's Bay Company post at Cumberland House, founded in 1774 by Samuel Hearne. In 1762 the south of the province was part of the Spanish Louisiana until 1802.
In 1803 the Louisiana Purchase transferred from France to the United States part of what is now Alberta and Saskatchewan. In 1818 it was ceded to the United Kingdom. Most of what is now Saskatchewan, was part of Rupert's Land and controlled by the Hudson's Bay Company. A seminal event in the history of what was to become Western Canada was the 1874 "March West" of the federal government's new North-West Mounted Police. Despite poor equipment and lack of provisions, the men on the march persevered and established a federal presence in the new territory.
The population grew and on September 1, 1905, Saskatchewan became a province, with inauguration day held September 4. The Dominion Lands Act permitted settlers to acquire one quarter of a square mile of land to homestead and offered an additional quarter upon establishing a homestead.
[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Saskatchewan Research

Links to articles on getting started with Saskatchewan research.


Saskatchewan Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Saskatchewan research.

{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Saskatchewan Map

Saskatchewan.png

Populated Places

Adopt-a-wiki page
Saskatchewan logo.png This page adopted by:
The Saskatchewan GenWeb and its members
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today
A-E or F-H or I-Q or R-Z.


FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.




   


Retrieved from "https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Saskatchewan,_Canada_Genealogy&oldid=3223261"