Sarpy County, Nebraska Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Sarpy County

Guide to Sarpy County, Nebraska ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Papillion
Organized: February 7, 1857
Parent County(s): DouglasCounty[1]
Neighboring Counties
Cass  • Douglas  • Mills (IA)  • Pottawattamie (IA)  • Saunders
See County Maps
Location Map
200px-Map of Nebraska highlighting Sarpy County svg.bmp

County Information


Sarpy County was named in honor of Peter Sarpy, an early fur trader at Fontenelle's Post located in the Bellevue area in the 1840s. Sarpy County is located on the eastern border of Nebraska, along the Missouri River.[2]

County Courthouse

Sarpy County Courthouse
1210 Golden Gate Drive
Papillion, NE 68046
Phone: 402.593.5775
Sarpy County Website

County Judge has marriage and probate records.
County Clerk has land records.[1]

Sarpy County, Nebraska Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1857 1857 1857 1860

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

Populated Places

The following are locations in Sarpy County, Nebraska:[4]


  • Bellevue
  • Gretna
  • La Vista
  • Papillion
  • Springfield

Unincorporated communities

  • Avery
  • Gilmore
  • Gilmore Junction
  • Meadow
  • Mella
  • Portal

Census divisions

  • City of Bellevue
  • Bellevue Second I
  • Bellevue Second II
  • Bellevue Second III
  • Bellevue Second IV
  • Fairview
  • Gilmore I
  • Gilmore II
  • Highland I
  • Highland II
  • LaPlatte I
  • LaPlatte II
  • La Vista
  • Melia-Forest City
  • Papillion
  • Papillion Second I
  • Papillion Second II
  • Platford-Springfield I
  • Platford-Springfield II
  • Richland I
  • Richland II
  • Richland III
  • Richland IV
  • Richland V
  • Richland VI
  • Richland VII
  • Richland VIII
  • Springfield

Census-designated places

  • Chalco
  • La Platte
  • Offutt AFB
  • Richfield

History Timeline


Bible Records


Business, Commerce, and Occupations


Cemeteries of Sarpy County, Nebraska online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Nebraska Cemeteries for more information


Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1860 1,201
1870 2,913 142.5%
1880 4,481 53.8%
1890 6,875 53.4%
1900 9,080 32.1%
1910 9,274 2.1%
1920 9,370 1.0%
1930 10,402 11.0%
1940 10,835 4.2%
1950 15,693 44.8%
1960 31,281 99.3%
1970 63,696 103.6%
1980 86,015 35.0%
1990 102,583 19.3%
2000 122,595 19.5%
2010 158,840 29.6%
Source: "".

Federal Censuses were taken for Nebraska starting in 1860. For links to Federal census indexes, see Nebraska Census.

For tips on accessing Sarpy County, Nebraska Genealogy census records online, see: Nebraska Census.

State Census Records

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Nebraska denominations, view the Nebraska Church Records wiki page.

Court Records


Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes



Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Nebraska Land and Property for additional information about early Nebraska land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Online Land Records

For more information see Nebraska Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Sarpy County, Nebraska Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nebraska Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers



Early migration routes to and from Sarpy County for European and African American settlers included:

Military Records

Revolutionary War

Civil War

World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship


For information on Nebraska newspapers, see Nebraska Newspapers.

Nebraska Newspapers Online

Nebraska Newspaper Catalogs


Other Records


Probate Records

In most counties in Nebraska, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Nebraska - Sarpy - Probate records.

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Nebraska tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.





Research Facilities


Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.





Research Guides


  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Nebraska.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. accessed 09/29/2016
  3. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 452-465. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Sarpy County, Nebraska," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,,_Nebraska, accessed 1 August 2016.
  5. National Park Service, "(Auto Tour Route) Maps" in Oregon National Historic Trail at (accessed 18 July 2011).
  6. National Park Service, "(Auto Tour Route) Maps" in California National Historic Trail at (accessed 18 July 2011).
  7. National Park Service, "Auto Tour Route Maps" in Mormon Pioneer National Historic Trail at (accessed 18 July 2011).