São Tomé and Príncipe Genealogy
Guide to São Tomé and Príncipe ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
|São Tomé and Príncipe Wiki Topics|
|São Tomé and Príncipe Background|
|Local Research Resources|
Country Information[edit | edit source]
São Tomé and Príncipe is an island country in the Gulf of Guinea off the coast of Central Africa whose nearest neighbors are Nigeria, Cameroon, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, and Republic of the Congo. It was formerly a colony of Portugal. The official language is Portuguese.
Getting Started[edit | edit source]
Getting Started with São Tomé and Príncipe Research
Links to articles on getting started with São Tomé and Príncipe research.
São Tomé and Príncipe Research Tools
Links to articles and websites that assist in São Tomé and Príncipe research.
São Tomé and Príncipe Map[edit | edit source]
Provinces[edit | edit source]
Genealogy records are kept on the local level in São Tomé and Príncipe. Click on a place below to go to the corresponding Wiki article listing more information.
São Tomé and Príncipe have two provinces of the same names:
Note: Principe has had self government since 29 April 1995.
FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]
Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.
- Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research
- Learning Center - Online genealogy courses
- Historical Records
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "São Tomé and Príncipe," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/S%C3%A3o_Tom%C3%A9_and_Pr%C3%ADncipe, accessed 22 April 2016.