Santon Downham, Suffolk Genealogy
|Santon Downham, Suffolk|
|Poor Law Union||Thetford|
|Parish registers: 1579|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1563|
|Diocese||Pre-1837 - Norwich; Post-1836 - Ely|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Sudbury|
|Location of Archive|
|Suffolk Record Office|
SANTON-DOWNHAM (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Thetford, hundred of Lackford, W. division of Suffolk, 2¾ miles (E. N. E.) from Brandon Ferry. 
Santon Downham St Mary is an Ancient parish in the county of Suffolk. It is situated in the village and this became the main settlement of the village which is on the edge of Thetford Forest and it forms the county border with Norfolk.
It is not to confused with neighboring Santon, Norfolk which also has a parish and a tiny church reflecting it's status of a hamlet. Refer to the works listed in Suffolk Gazetteers or England Gazetteers for source material.
If you live in Suffolk you will have access to a variety of resources at local archives and libraries. For those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at LDS Family History Centres. Refer to and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalogue for available records.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
- Thetford 1837-1935
- Newmarket 1935-
Santon Downham, Suffolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|1813 = Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) (findmypast) - (£)|
|BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|Santon Downham, Suffolk Genealogy Online Parish Records|
| This section requires expansion with:
Information about parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, parish chest records, non conformist and other types of church records. Also add links to online parish collections. Make reference to records found in the FamilySearch Catalog. To locate resources, look at Suffolk Parishes in the FamilySearch Catalogue.
The Genealogical Society of Utah has no microfilm for this parish but deposited register from 1579-1976 are at the Suffolk Record Office.
Prior to 1837 the parish was in the diocese of Norwich;post 1837 it was transferred to the Diocese of Ely.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Suffolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 15-20. Date accessed: 08 October 2013.
- 'Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 9 December 2013.
- Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.