To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Chile Wiki Topics
Flag of Chile.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Chile Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources

Guide to Province of Santiago ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, church records, parish registers, and civil registration.

{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

History[edit | edit source]

  • The Province of Santiago was created on 30 August 1826.
  • As a province, Santiago is a second-level administrative division of Chile. Unlike the other provinces of Chile in the province of Santiago the duties of governor are legally handed over to the regional mayor.
  • Almost the whole of the province is immersed in an extremely fertile flat meadow that the Chileans denominate the Intermediate Depression. The land is characterized by its low elevation with respect to the level of the sea and to be surrounded by hills
  • The Province of Santiago has an approximate population of 4.978.000 people[1].

Communes[edit | edit source]

ConchalíIndependenciaRecoletaQuinta NormalCerro NaviaRencaLo PradoEstación CentralSantiagoProvidenciaÑuñoaLa ReinaPedro Aguirre CerdaCerrillosSan MiguelSan JoaquínMaculLo EspejoLa CisternaSan RamónLa GranjaEl BosqueLa PintanaPeñalolénLa FloridaVitacuraLas CondesHuechurabaQuilicuraPudahuelMaipúLo BarnecheaSantiago Province.png
About this image

Parish Records[edit | edit source]

Civil Records[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia Collaborators, "Provincia de Santiago," In Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, https://es.wikipedia.org/wiki/Provincia_de_Santiago. Visited 22 June 2017