Santa Cruz California Family History Center
|This article describes the services and resources available at a Family History Center, a branch facility of the Family History Library.|
- 1 Center Contacts and Hours
- 2 Calendar and events
- 3 Upcoming Events: OPEN HOUSE Saturday, November 16, 8:30 pm
- 4 Family History Microfilm Discontinuation
- 5 Collections
- 6 Databases and Software
- 7 Hardware and Equipment
- 8 Center Services
- 9 Staff Research Specialties
- 10 Resources in the Local Area
- 11 Links
- 12 Volunteer at the Center
Center Contacts and Hours[edit | edit source]
- Location Map: Location Map
- Language: English
- Address: 220 Elk Street, Santa Cruz California
- Cross street Lance Court - closest parking on Elk street
- Entrance to Parking Lot around the block off Pacheco Ave near Allerton street
- Phone: 831-426-1078
- Open Hours:
Tuesdays 9 a.m. to 3 p.m.
Wednesdays 9 a.m. to 9 p.m.
Saturdays 9 a.m. to 12 noon
Closed for cleaning and remodel Monday, November 4 through Saturday, November 16 8pm, 2019
Open the Saturday, 9 am to noon, November 30, 2019
Closed Christmas Eve and Christmas Day
Tuesday, December 24 and Wednesday, December 25, 2019
Closed New Years Eve
Tuesday, December 31, 2019
Closed New Years Day, Wednesday, January 1, 2020
Calendar and events[edit | edit source]
Upcoming Events: OPEN HOUSE Saturday, November 16, 8:30 pm[edit | edit source]
Family History Microfilm Discontinuation[edit | edit source]
On September 1, 2017, FamilySearch discontinued its microfilm distribution services.
The change is the result of significant progress made in FamilySearch’s microfilm digitization efforts and the obsolescence of microfilm technology.
• Online access to digital images of records allows FamilySearch to reach many more people, faster and more efficiently.
• FamilySearch is a global leader in historic records preservation and access, with billions of the world’s genealogical records in its collections.
• Over 1.5 million microfilms (ca. 1.5 billion images) have been digitized by FamilySearch, including the most requested collections based on microfilm loan records worldwide.
• The remaining microfilms should be digitized by the end of 2020, and all new records from its ongoing global efforts are already using digital camera equipment.
• Family history centers will continue to provide access to relevant technology, premium subscription services, and digital records, including restricted content not available at home.
Digital images of historical records can be accessed today in 3 places on FamilySearch.org under Search.
• Records include historical records indexed by name or organized with an image browse.
• Books include digital copies of books from the Family History Library and other libraries.
• Catalog includes a description of genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, etc.) in the FamilySearch collection.
Collections[edit | edit source]
- Microfiche Collection -- Thousands of fiche from the FamilySearch Catalog
- Indefinite Film Collection -- a collection of films on a variety of subjects, including vital records, county records, court records, etc.
- Book Collection - Reference use only
Databases and Software[edit | edit source]
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Premium Family History Website Descriptions <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<
Note: You must access the premium subscription websites from a family history center computer through the Family History Center Services Portal. If you try to access the using the links below, the websites require an individual subscription.
- The 19th Century British Library Newspapers digital archive—http://find.galegroup.com/bncn/ This fully searchable database of the British Library's newspaper holdings provides a complete run of 48 national and regional Victorian British newspapers for the 19th century from 1800 to 1900. These support the study of colonial history, genealogical research, politics, urban studies, and media courses.
- Alexander Street Press, American Civil War—http://alexanderstreet.com/ -- Research Data: Contains indexed, searchable information on over 4 million soldiers and thousands of battles, together with 15,000 photographs. http://asp6new.alexanderstreet.com/cwdb/
- Letters and Diaries: Contains approximately 100,000 indexed pages of diaries, letters, and memoirs, including 4,000 pages of previously unpublished manuscripts, such as the letters of Amos Wood and his wife and the diary of Maryland planter William Claytor. http://solomon.cwld.alexanderstreet.com/
- Images, Photographs, Posters, and Ephemera: Provides a vivid history of the American Civil War with over 1,400 images.http://cpho.alexanderstreet.com/
- Social and Cultural History: Personal accounts of well-known historical figures.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States: Organized around the history of women in social movements in the United States between 1600 and 2000 A.D.
- Ancestry.com—http://www.ancestry.com/ -- Ancestry gives you access to thousands of collections of records from around the world, including immigration, census, voter, vital, and military records; newspapers and periodicals; family trees; photos and images; directories, maps, court, land, wills and financial records, stories, memories, and histories; and detailed records about births, marriages, deaths, land ownership, and much more. It is the largest for-profit genealogy company in the world.
- ArkivDigital Online -- ArkivDigital is the largest private provider of Swedish Church Records and other historical records online! All images are newly photographed color images of the original documents. Click the link from the Premium Family History Websites page to install the current client version of ArkivDigital Online.
- Findmypast—http://www.findmypast.co.uk/ Findmypast makes it easy to research your UK ancestry and create your family tree. Search census records and trace births, marriages, and deaths to bring your family history to life. Please note that not all of the content from findmypast is available in family history centers.
- Available ONLY on Findmypast is the PERSI Index - - - Now Updated Every 6 Months! The Periodical Source Index, or PERSI, is the largest subject index to genealogy and local history periodical articles in the world. Created by the staff of the Allen County Public Library Foundation and the ACPL's Genealogy Center, PERSI is widely recognized as a vital tool for genealogical researchers.
- 1911 British Census (accessed through the findmypast website)—The 1911 UK Census is a record of everyone who lived in England and Wales in 1911. It provides a unique snapshot of the lives of those who lived at that time.
- Fold3 (formerly Footnote.com)–http://www.fold3.com/ Search or browse millions of historical documents and photos. Fold3 has refocused their efforts on gathering the best online collection of military records and stories. The Fold3 name reflects military history and honor, since traditionally, the third fold in a flag-folding ceremony honors and remembers veterans for their sacrifice in defending their country and promoting peace in the world.
- Geneanet--http://geneanet.org With 3 billion referenced individuals and 600,000 trees online, Geneanet is the first site dedicated to genealogy in France, Belgium, the Netherlands, Sweden, and Germany. The Geneanet community has two million members who exchange genealogical information.
- Kinpoint Premium—https://kinpoint.com Kinpoint is designed to make it easier for you to do your family history by letting you see what to work on at a glance; quickly find missing information in your family tree; and discover insights into the lives of your ancestors.
- MyHeritage—Library Edition—http://myheritagelibraryedition.com/research Used by millions of people worldwide to help research family history, build a family tree, and add photos, historical records, and more.
- Paper Trail—http://www.genealogytoday.com/ Provides access to 19th-century westward American migration documents.
- Puzzilla—https://puzzilla.org Premium Services. Find new research opportunities on descendant lines in Family Tree.
Hardware and Equipment[edit | edit source]
- computers, microfilm readers, microfiche readers
Center Services[edit | edit source]
Staff Research Specialties[edit | edit source]
- Family Tree
- Indexing—Reviewing and Arbitration
- U.S. Research
- British Research
- Scandinavian Research
Resources in the Local Area[edit | edit source]
- Santa Cruz County Genealogical Society: located in the Downtown Santa Cruz Public Library.
Links[edit | edit source]
Volunteer at the Center[edit | edit source]
(Include information here about the volunteers you are looking for.)