Santa Barbara County, California Genealogy
|Santa Barbara County, California|
Location in the state of California
Location of California in the U.S.
|Founded||February 18, 1850|
|County Seat||Santa Barbara|
|Address|| Hall of Records|
1100 Anacapa St.
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
|Named for: Saint Barbara|
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 Historical Facts
- 4 Parent County
- 5 Places/Localities
- 6 Resources
- 6.1 Bible Records
- 6.2 Biography
- 6.3 Cemeteries
- 6.4 Census
- 6.5 Church History and Records
- 6.6 Court Records
- 6.7 Crime and Criminals
- 6.8 Directories
- 6.9 Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
- 6.10 Gazetteers
- 6.11 Genealogy
- 6.12 History
- 6.13 Land and Property
- 6.14 Maps
- 6.15 Migration
- 6.16 Military History and Records
- 6.17 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 6.18 Newspapers
- 6.19 Obituaries
- 6.20 Periodicals
- 6.21 Probate Records
- 6.22 Repositories
- 6.23 Societies
- 6.24 Taxation
- 6.25 Vital Records
- 6.26 Voting Registers
- 7 Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries
- 8 Websites
- 9 References
Santa Barbara County, California Record Dates
Santa Barbara County Courthouse
105 E Anapamu Rm #204
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Superior Court has divorce, probate, court and naturalization records
Recorder has birth, marriage, death and land records from 1850
Santa Barbara area Native Americans were first contacted by several early explorers in the 1500s and 1600s but the first moves toward settlement by Europeans were Spanish in 1769. The Santa Barbara mission was founded in 1786 by Franciscan padres who were also the first record keepers.
18 February 1850: Santa Barbara was created as an original county when California first became a state. 
The county was named from Mission Santa Barbara was founded on December 4, 1786 in what is now Santa Barbara. The county derives its name from the mission. The county seat Santa Barbara and the county was created 1856. The County is located in the west central area of the state.
1 January 1873: Ventura County was set off.
For animated maps illustrating California county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation California County Boundary Maps" (1850-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
The preceding list of places includes incorporated cities and towns, unincorporated towns and communities, and place names that may have been used in family histories. Some have well-organized records and even have websites. Some are simply social communities with no official records, but which may be referenced in small-town newspapers. The list is provided to help researchers identify localities within the county. As records or histories of these localities are identified, a page will be added for each of these place names. Information about the cemeteries can be found in these pages if known.
- Santa Barbara County Biographies (Genealogy Trails)
- Index to Santa Barbara County Biographies (USGenWeb Archives)
- Index to Santa Barbara County, California Biographies and Histories (CAGenWeb)
The following web sites may have additional information on Santa Barbara County cemeteries.
- Interment.net California cemetery records by County.
For tips on accessing Santa Barbara County, California Genealogy census records online, see: California Census.
- 1850 - Federal Census, Santa Barbara, California (CAGenWeb Project)
Church History and Records
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about California denominations, view the California Church Records wiki page.
- Santa Barbara County Churches & Synagogues (CAGenWeb Project)
LDS Ward and Branch Records
- Santa Maria
Crime and Criminals
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
The Santa Barbara County Genealogical Society has free online databases and indexes to search at sbgen.org and maintains the Sahyun library open for research at 316 Castillo St., Santa Barbara, CA 93101. Online subscriptions to Ancestry.com, Fold3, and GenealogyBank.com available to members only, or $5 per day. WiFi available.
Hours are: Tues., Thurs., Fri. - 10-4, Sun. 1-4.
Summer evening hours beginning in April - Tues. 5-8 p.m.
Local histories are available for Santa Barbara County, California Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section California Local Histories.
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See California Land and Property for additional information about early California land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
- Index to Federal Land Records, Santa Barbara County (USGenWeb Archives)
Military History and Records
- Santa Barbara County List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883 (Genealogy Trails)
Regiments. Service men in Santa Barbara County, California Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Santa Barbara County, California Genealogy:
- - 1st Battalion, California Native Cavalry (Union), Company A
- - 1st Battalion, California Native Cavalry (Union), Company C
- Index to Civil War Veterans Rosters, G.A.R. Posts, Santa Barbara County (USGenWeb Archives)
World War II
- Index to Santa Barbara County Army Enlistees, World War II (USGenWeb Archives)
- World War II Draft Registration Cards, Santa Barbara County (CAGenWeb Project)
- WWII Honor List of Dead and Missing, Santa Barbara County (Genealogy Trails)
- Alphabetical Listing of Japanese Americans Relocated During World War II (CAGenWeb Project)
- Detailed Records of Japanese Americans Relocated During World War II (CAGenWeb Project)
- Vietnam War Casualties Listed on the Virtual Wall - listed by city. (CAGenWeb Project)
Naturalization and Citizenship
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Santa Barbara County, California Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- Santa Barbara County Obituaries (Genealogy Trails)
- Index to Santa Barbara County Obituaries (USGenWeb Archives)
The county clerk is usually the custodian of probate records. The records include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
You can obtain copies of the original probate records (such as wills and estate files) by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for California - Santa Barbara - Probate records.
Online Probate Records
- 1782 – 1999 California Wills and Probate Records 1782-1999 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1833 – 1991 California Probate Estate Files 1833-1991 at FamilySearch — images
Archives, Libraries and Museums
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
- Lompoc California Family History Center
- Santa Barbara California Family History Center
- Santa Maria California Family History Center
- Solvang California Family History Center
California tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page California Taxation.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records. The State office has records since July 1905. For earlier records, contact the County Recorder. See also How to order California Vital Records
Santa Barbara Mission archives contain early births, baptisms, marriages and deaths.
- 1812 - 1988 - California Births and Christenings, 1812-1988 at FamilySearch — index
- 1905 - 1995 - California Birth Index, 1905-1995 at FamilySearch — index
- 1905 - Birth Index, Santa Barbara County (Genealogy Trails)
- Early Santa Barbara County Birth Notices (Genealogy Trails)
- 1850 - 1945 - California Marriages, 1850-1945 at FamilySearch — index
- 1850 - 1952 - California, County Marriages, 1850-1952 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1854 - 1885 - Western States Marriage Index.
- 1960 - 1985 - California Marriage Index, 1960-1985 at FamilySearch — index and images
- Early Santa Barbara County Marriage Notices (Genealogy Trails)
- 1850 - U.S. Federal Census Mortality Schedules Index for Santa Barbara County (CAGenWeb Project)
- 1905 - 1939 - California Death Index, 1905-1939 at FamilySearch — index
- 1940 - 1997 - California Death Index, 1940-1997 at FamilySearch — index
- Santa Barbara County Death Index by year (CAGenWeb Project)
- Index to Pre-1905 Deaths, Santa Barbara County (CAGenWeb Project)
Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries
Santa Barbara County Genealogical Society
316 Castillo Street
P.O. Box 1303
Santa Maria Valley Genealogical Society
PO Box 1215
Santa Maria, CA 93456
Vandenburg Genealogical Society
PO Box 81
Lompoc, CA 93438-0081
- Santa Barbara County, CA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- California Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- California Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- Santa Barbara County CAGenWeb
- USGenWeb Archives
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Santa Barbara County, California Genealogy Trails
- Santa Barbara County CA Genealogy (LDS Genealogy)
- Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 62-75. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Santa Barbara County, California. Page 87At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- WorldCat 50140092 ▲ FHL CollectionHandybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002)
- Genealogy Trails History Group, “Santa Barbara County, California Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/cal/sbarbara/ 05/08/2017.