Sankt Sigfrid Parish, Kalmar, Sweden

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Sweden
Kalmar County
Sankt Sigfrid


Guide to Sankt Sigfrid Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

History

This parish was created in 1856 from Ljungby kapellförsamling. 


(write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)
Sankt Sigfrid Parish, Kalmar, Sweden
Jurisdictions
Stift -1915 Kalmar
1916- Växjö
Pastorat - 1976 Ljungby, 1977 - Nybro
Län Kalmar
Landskap Småland
Härad Södra Möre hd
Tingslag add here
Domsaga add here
Fögderi add here
Kommun Nybro
Militär indelning Södra Möre Båtsmanskompanier 


Place Name

u.n.u. followed by a place name means, that there were Backstugor (summer cottages) in the named area.


Blåsemåle, Bogsprötemålen, Bosgård Nr 1 - 3, Brobergsmålen, Brod, Brorsryd Nr 1 - 2, Brändebo, Brändemåla Södra,

Båtsmanstorp

Nr 85 u n u Fjälebo

Nr 93 u n u Gisslebo

Nr 94 u n u Grindemåla

Nr 100 u n u Bosgård

Nr 100 u n u Kyrkeryd

Nr 106 u n  u Bosgård

Nr 108 u n u Stora Mölebo

Nr 112  u n u Brorsryd

Nr 113  u n u Källebäck

Nr 114 u n u Kyrkeryd

Nr 115 u n u Kyrkeryd Nr 2

Nr 117 u n u Stora Mölebo

Nr 278 u n u Gårdsryd

Nr 280 u n u Gårdsryd Nr 2

Fjälebo, Flymålen, Friskemålen,

Gisslabo, Grindemåla, Gränö Komministerboställe, Gårdsryd Nr 1 - 4,

Kimramåla, Komministerbostället Gränö, Kortemåla, Krukebo, Kulla Nr 1 - 2, Kyrkeryd Nr 1 - 2, Källebäck,

Mossen, Mölebo Lilla Nr 1 - 2,

Nymålen,

Ryttaremålen,

Sandtorpet, Snickaremålen, Stillemåla,

Tyskemålen,

Västrakulla,

Överstatorp Nr 1 - 5

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections

Census Records

Church Records

Online Database Church Records

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records

Click Sweden, Kalmat Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Sweden, Kalmar and then select your parish.

Military Records

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

PLF Database -- A large portion of births, marriages, and deaths have been indexed on CD-Roms for the county of Kalmar. The 4 disc set has been created by Person-och Lokalhistoriskt Forskarcentrum, Oskarshamn (PLF). To learn more about these CD-Roms click here.
Nixon -- a name index of Biographical and genealogical information for Kalmar and a few other counties.  To learn more click here.

Help Reading Swedish Records

Help Reading Old Handwriting

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies

Sweden Research Strategies

References

Ortnamnsregister, S:t Sigfrid (Sankt Sigfrid),  Husförhörslängd 1861-1870.

Riksarkivet. "Sankt Sigfrids församling" Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). October 2011 http://www.nad.ra.se/