Sankt Gallen, Sankt Gallen, Switzerland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Sankt Gallen, Sankt Gallen Parish, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Karte Gemeinde St. Gallen 2007.png

Geography[edit | edit source]

Karte Quartiere St. Gallen.png

History[edit | edit source]

Place Names[edit | edit source]

Locations within Sankt Gallen[edit | edit source]

Sankt Gallen contains the districts of Tablat and Straubenzell.

Tablat[edit | edit source]

The Reformed parish of Tablat was established in 1907. Before 1907, parishioners belonged to the city parish of St. Gallen.

Straubenzell[edit | edit source]

There are two Reformed parishes in Straubenzell:

  • The Reformed parish of Bruggen-Winkeln was established in 1903. Before 1903, parishioners belonged to the city parish of St. Gallen.
  • The Reformed parish of Lachen-Vonwil was established in 1914. Before 1914, parishioners belonged to the city parish of St. Gallen.

Surrounding Parishes[edit | edit source]

Collections[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Evangelical Reformed: St. Gallen parish[edit | edit source]

Baptisms: 1st section, St. Lorenz, St. Mangen (1527-1566)
Baptisms: 2nd section (1567-1615)
Baptisms: 3rd section (1616-1666)
Baptisms: 4th section, St. Lorenz, St. Mangen, St. Leonhard (1667-1711)
Baptisms: 1st section (1527-1566)
Baptisms: 2nd section (1567-1615)
Baptisms: 3rd section (1616-1683)
Baptisms: 4th section (1684-1756)
Baptisms: 5th section (1757-1840)
Baptisms: 2nd section (1570-1671)
Baptism extracts: organized by family A-L (1635-1798)
Baptisms (1620-1798)
Baptisms (1667-1702)
Baptisms (1703-1739)
Baptisms: organized by family (1740-1780)
Baptisms: index, citizens W-Z and residents (1740-1828)
Baptisms: new citizens (1767-1849)
Baptisms: index, citizens and residents (1801-1819)
Baptisms: index, citizens, A-R (1801-1869)
Baptisms: index, citizens, S-Z (1801-1869)

Baptisms: citizens (1829-1834)
Baptisms (1841-1859)
Baptisms (1900-1906)
Baptisms (1906-1913)
Baptisms (1913-1926) -- unavailable online
Baptisms (1927-1931) -- unavailable online
Baptisms: General register (1843-1861)
Baptisms: General register (1860-1874)
Baptisms: General register (1874-1896)
Baptisms: General register (1896-1907)

Confirmations (1696-1759)
Confirmations (1759-1840)
Confirmations (1841-1877)
Confirmations: general register (1878-1889)
Confirmations (1885-1907)
Confirmations (1891-1932) -- unavailable online---

Marriages: (1528-1862)
Marriages: (1528-1768)
Marriages (1769-1840)
Marriages (1841-1884)
Marriages: General register (1841-1873)
Marriages: General register (1873-1901)
Marriages (1901-1933) -- unavailable online

Burials: vol. 1 (1576-1642)
Burials: vol. 2 (1643-1677)
Burials: vol. 3 (1678-1735)
Burials: vol. 4 (1736-1792)
Burials: vol. 5 (1793-1840)
Burials: vol. 6 (1841-1890)

Burials: General register (1841-1873)
Burials: General register (1874-1900)
Deaths: Children (1844-1876)
Deaths: Adults (1844-1876)

Burials: part 1 (1576-1639)
Burials: (1715-1800)

Burials: vol. 1 (1905-1907)
Burials: vol. 2 (1907-1924)
Burials: vol. 3 (1924-1932) -- unavailable online

Evangelical Reformed: Linsebühl parish[edit | edit source]

The Linsebühl parish was established in 1800 from the parish of St. Laurenzen-St. Mangen for baptisms only; marriages were kept in the city parish of St. Laurenzen-St. Mangen until 1834.

Baptisms (1800-1814)
Baptisms (1815-1842)

Baptisms (1834-1861)
Baptisms (1862-1883)
Baptisms (1883-1903)

Confirmations (1834-1882)

Marriages (1834-1873)
Marriages (1874-1906)

Burials (1834-1863)
Burials (1864-1907)

Evangelical Reformed: St. Laurenzen and St. Mangen parish[edit | edit source]

Baptisms (1841-1874)
Baptisms (1875-1918)
Baptisms: St. Mangen (1888-1899)
Confirmations: St. Leonhard (1835-1891)
Marriages: St. Lorenz (1698-1779)
Burials: St. Lorenz (1698-1779)

Evangelical Reformed: St. Leonhard parish[edit | edit source]

St. Leonhard parish was established in 1834 from the original city parish of St. Laurenzen-St. Mangen.

Baptisms (1834-1870)
Baptisms (1871-1900)
Marriages (1834-1886)
Marriages (1887-1932) -- unavailable online
Burials (1834-1864)
Burials (1865-1932)

Catholic: Bruggen parish[edit | edit source]

Baptisms (1774-1859)
Baptisms (1842-1896)
Baptisms (1897-1960) -- unavailable online
Baptisms (1865-1886), marriages (1886), and deaths (1865-1886)
Marriage (1639-1817) and burials (1637-1817)
Marriages (1818-1841)
Marriages (1842-1896)
Marriages (1898-1956) -- unavailable online
Burials (1818-1841)
Burials (1842-1873)
Burials (1874-1942)

Jahrzeitbuch (1696)

Catholic: Cathedral parish[edit | edit source]

Baptisms (1589-1609)
Baptisms (1609-1627)
Baptisms (1632-1673)
Baptisms (1673-1696)
Baptisms (1697-1744)
Baptisms (1745-1787)
Baptisms (1788-1829)
Baptisms (1830-1855)
Baptisms (1856-1869)
Baptisms (1870-1878)
Baptisms (1879-1884)
Baptisms (1885-1891)
Baptisms (1892-1903)

Marriages (1632-1756)
Marriages (1757-1796)
Marriages (1797-1829)
Marriages (1830-1869)
Marriages (1870-1892)
Marriages (1892-1906)

Burials (1876-1898)

Catholic: St. Georgen parish[edit | edit source]

Family book (1753-1810)
Family book, volume 1 (1753-1812)
Family book, volume 2 (1753-1812)
Family book (1767-1828)
Family book (1789-1837)
Family book (1792-1854)
Family book (1801-1857)
Family book (1810-1861)
Family book (1800-1866)
Burials (1671-1692)
Burials (1746-1844)
Burials (1844-1959)
Burials (1876-1895)

Catholic: Tablat-St. Fiden parish[edit | edit source]

Burials (1638-1755)
Burials (1756-1794)
Burials (1795-1841)
Burials (1842-1859)
Burials (1860-1874)
Burials (1874-1901)

Burials (1795-1809)

Urbar (1733)
Urbarder Freischule zu St.Fiden (1781)
Verzeichnis der Pfrund Einkommen (1746)
Schülerverzeichnis (1821-1831)
Jahrzeitenbuch (1669)
Jahrzeitenbuch der Kirche St.Fiden (1781)

City Records[edit | edit source]

Birth and baptism register (1849-1865)
Birth and baptism register (1866-1899)
Birth and baptism register (1900-1926) -- unavailable online
Birth and baptism register (1927-1954) -- unavailable online
Birth and baptism register (1954-1969) -- unavailable online

Marriage register (1853-1865)
Marriage register (1866-1893)
Marriage register (1894-1909)
Marriage register (1909-1925) -- unavailable online
Marriage register (1925-1939) -- unavailable online
Marriage register (1939-1952) -- unavailable online
Marriage register (1952-1969) -- unavailable online
Marriage register between citizens and non-citizens (1859-1875)

Death register (1850-1865)
Death register (1866-1901)
Death register (1902-1926)
Death register (1927-1950)
Death register (1950-1969)

Yearbook (1400-1519)

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Sankt Gallen families:

Niederer family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 127,965; see also FHL Film 193,480)

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Surnames[edit | edit source]

The following surnames held citizenship in Sankt Gallen prior to 1875:

Related Sources[edit | edit source]

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Cantonal Archive of Sankt Gallen

References[edit | edit source]

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland