To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Sandown, Hampshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Sandown, Hampshire)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Sandown, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Sandown, Hampshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East Medina Liberty
County Hampshire
Poor Law Union Isle of Wight
Registration District Isle of Wight
Records begin
Parish registers: 1847
Bishop's Transcripts: 1846
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery East Medine
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester
Location of Archive
Hampshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

SANDOWN, a village and a chapelry in Brading parish, Isle of Wight. The village stands on a bay of its own name, adjacent to the Isle of Wight railway, 5½ miles S of Ryde and is properly called Sandham.[1].

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Sandown parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
SANDOWN PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1847-1906
1848-1906

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870. Date accessed: 7 June 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 24 September 2013.