Sandoval County, New Mexico Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
New Mexico
Sandoval County
 

Guide to Sandoval County, New Mexico ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Bernalillo
Organized: 10 March, 1903
Parent County(s): Bernalillo[1]
Neighboring Counties
Bernalillo  • Cibola  • Los Alamos  • McKinley  • Rio Arriba  • San Juan  • Santa Fe
See County Maps
Courthouse
NewMexicoSandovalCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Nm-sandoval.png
Adoption


County Information

Description

Sandoval County was founded 1903. The seat is Bernalillo.[2]

County Courthouse

Sandoval County Courthouse
711 Camino Del Pueblo
PO Box 40
Bernalillo, NM 87004
Phone: 505.867.2209
Sandoval County Website

County Clerk has marriage, probate and land records.[1]

Sandoval County, New Mexico Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1907 1887 1907 #11 1887 1899 1790

Record Loss

Sandoval County Courthouse had a Record loss in 1926.

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating New Mexico County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation New Mexico County Boundary Maps" (1845-1981) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Sandoval County, New Mexico:[4]

City

  • Rio Rancho

Town

  • Bernalillo (county seat)

Villages

  • Corrales
  • Cuba
  • Jemez Springs
  • San Ysidro

Unincorporated community

  • Counselor

Census-designated places

  • Algodones
  • Cochiti
  • Jemez Pueblo
  • La Jara
  • Pena Blanca
  • Placitas
  • Ponderosa
  • Pueblo of Sandia Village
  • Regina
  • San Felipe Pueblo
  • Santa Ana Pueblo
  • Santo Domingo Pueblo
  • Torreon
  • Zia Pueblo

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Sandoval County, New Mexico online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See New Mexico Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1910 8,579
1920 8,863 3.3%
1930 11,144 25.7%
1940 13,898 24.7%
1950 12,438 −10.5%
1960 14,201 14.2%
1970 17,492 23.2%
1980 34,799 98.9%
1990 63,319 82.0%
2000 89,908 42.0%
2010 131,561 46.3%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Federal Census Records
Federal Censuses were taken for New Mexico starting in 1850. For links to Federal census indexes, see New Mexico Census.

State Census Records

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about New Mexico denominations, view the New Mexico Church Records wiki page.

Catholic

Parish registers (baptisms, marriages, and burials) are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free[5]
Misión de San Felipe, San Felipe, Online Parish Registers
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1767-1829 1767-1829 1726-1814 1726-1814 1726-1860
Our Lady of the Assumption, Zia, Online Parish Registers
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1694-1772 1694-1772 1697-1771 1697-1771 1727-1772

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See New Mexico Land and Property for additional information about early New Mexico land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Online Land Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Sandoval County, New Mexico Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section New Mexico Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Nmsandoval.jpg

Migration

Military Records

Revolutionary War

Civil War

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers


Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Since statehood in 1912, probate matters have been under the jurisdiction of probate courts in each county. Records of guardianship and adoption have usually been transferred to the district courts. In 1953 the district courts were given concurrent jurisdiction with the probate court over all probate matters in each county.

See the wiki page New Mexico Probate Records for information about how to find earlier probate records.

The Family History Library does not have copies of the New Mexico county probate records. They are available at each county courthouse. You can obtain copies by contacting the county clerk.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, and adoption.

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

New Mexico tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the Wiki page New Mexico Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the Wiki page, New Mexico Vital Records, for additional information about the vital records in New Mexico.

Marriage records - are at the County Clerk's office

Divorce records - are at the office of the County Clerk of Court

Birth and death records - are at the New Mexico Vital Records and Health Statistics Office which has records since 1920 and delayed records since 1880.

See also How to order New Mexico Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for New Mexico Birth Certificate, Death Certificate Applications to mail.

Birth

Marriage

A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:

New Mexico, County Death Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Sandoval County Historical Society
PO Box 692
Bernalillo, NM, 87004
Telephone: 505-867-2755
E-mail:schsinfo@sandcohist.fatcow.com
Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), New Mexico.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. http://genealogytrails.com/newmex/sandoval/ accessed 09/29/2016
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Sandoval County, New Mexico. Page 474 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 471.
  4. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sandoval_County,_New_Mexico#Communities
  5. FamilySearch Catalog. Accessed 12 May 2016.