Sandleford, Berkshire Genealogy
Guide to Sandleford, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Newbury|
|Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes|
|Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes|
|Rural Deanery||Not Applicable|
|Probate Court||Search the courts of the surrounding parishes|
|Location of Archive|
|Berkshire Record Office|
SANDLEFORD-PRIORY, an extra-parochial tract in Newbury district, Berks; on the river Enbourn, 2 miles S of Newbury.  Also in the hundred of Hormer and 3 miles northwest of Oxford. Search surrounding parishes for records and information. Genuki.org has additional information about Sandleford and extra-parochial places in Berkshire.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Sandleford is an extra-parochial place. Search surrounding parishes for records and information.
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Sandleford an extra parochial place in GENUKI
- 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales
- Colin Hinson, "Extra-Parochial places for Berkshire," GENUKI: UK & Ireland Genealogy, 2003, http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/BRK/Names/Extraparochial, accessed 7 August 2018.