Sandiacre, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to Sandiacre, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
St Giles Sandiacre from Erewash Canal - geograph org uk - 953042
|Hundred||Morlestone and Litchurch|
|Poor Law Union||Shardlow|
|Parish registers: 1711|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1662|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
SANDIACRE (St. Giles), an ancient parish, in the union of Shardlow, hundred of Morleston and Litchurch, S. division of the county of Derby, 9½ miles (E.) from Derby. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Sandiacre registration transferred to the Ilkeston district from 1 April 1938
Shardlow registration District GRO volumes : XIX (1837-51); 7b (1852-1946); 3A (1946-74).
Registers are now held at
The Register Office, Royal Oak House, Market Place, Derby, DE1 3AR.
Tel: 01332 256526/35/36. Fax: 01332 256525.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Sandiacre parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|Sandiacre St Giles (1711) Parish Online Records|
Sandiacre St Giles suffered loss by fire of its early register 1581-1710. In order to search for marriages consult Phillimore (Volume 1) for marriages 1581-1710.
Derbyshire Record Office reference D 1242 has deposited registers Bap 1711-1973 Mar 1711-1970,1989-2007 Burials 1711-1935 Banns 1823-1888,1938-1950,1954-1965,1968-1977
Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1662-1869 Mar 1662-1836 Burials 1662-1869
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- Primitive Methodis
- Wesleyan Methodist
- Wesleyan Methodist Reform
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Sandiacre on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 15-20. Date accessed: 27 May 2013.