To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Sandeid Parish, Rogaland, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Sandeid, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records

Sandeid Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/Diocese add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Stavanger
Amt 1689-1919 1662-1682: Stavanger stiftamt,
1682-1919: Stavanger amt
Fylke 1919-Present Rogaland
Region add here
Prestegjeld Vikedal
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Vikedal
Fogderi Ryfylke
Sorenskriveri Ryfylke
Skipreide add here


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Imsland was a part of Vikedal clerical district and records begin in 1737. They contain priest and sexton records from the parishes Vikedal, Sandeid and Imsland. These records are available on microfilm at the History Library.

Digital images of the church books are online at Digitalarkivet.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

This census was taken by the local parish priests. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. Both censuses should be searched as they supplement each other. This clerical census is more complete.

Manntall 1663-66 for Stavanger amt III Database

The census of 1701 was taken for military purposes. It lists only the males living in rural districts who were over the age of one year. It includes the farm name, name and age of the owner, names and ages of sons and servants. Also includes the residence of all unmarried males living away from home when the census was taken.

Mantallet (Census) 1701 for Stavanger Amt Database

The 1801 census (b. 39) for Vikedal clerical district includes Vikedal, Sandeid and Imsland parishes. It lists the farm name, person's name, position in the household, age, marital status, and occupation.

1801-telling (census) at Digitalarkivet.

This census contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, martial status, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book.

1865-telling for Vikedal Database

This 1875 census contains the persons name, residence, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information.

1875-teljinga for 1157 Vikedal prestegjeld Database

This census contains the persons name, sex, resident or temporary resident, temporarily absent and where person is, position in the family, marital status, occupation, year of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information.

1900-telling for 1157 Vikedal Database

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

For 1666-1795 the probates are in the combined Ryfylke and Karmsund judicial district.
For 1786-1876 they are found in Ryfylke judicial district.
The clerical probates for 1729-1807 are found in Ryfylke deanery deanery. `

Availability[edit | edit source]

Ryfylke og Karmsund judicial district
*1666-1795 Family History Library
*1666-1795 Digitalarkivet
*1666-1788 Probate card indexes sorted by farm name Digitalarkivet

Ryfylke judicial district
*1786-1876 Family History Library
*1786-1876 Digitalarkivet

Ryfylke deanery
*1786-1807 Clerical probate records Family History Library
*1786-1807 Digitalarkivet.

Vindafjord police station
*1960-1972 death protocol Digitalarkivet

Farm Book[edit | edit source]

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

8 Andetjøn, 22 Apeland

15 Berget, 10 Bjørkhaug

17 Frøland

23 Gjerde øvre

25 Haaland nordre, 1 Haare, 21 Haukekvam, 18 Helgeland, 15 Helgevold Midt-, 5 Helland, 6 Homletveit

7 Lerdal

19 Røden lille

11 Skeie, 3 Steinsland, 2 Stople, 27 Strand, 28 Strandenes, 4 Søndenaa

24 Tenning-Gjerde, 14 Tronsvold

12 Vestbø

13 Østbø, 9 Østebø

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names