To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Sand Hutton (near York), Yorkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Sand Hutton (near York), Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Sand Hutton (near York), Yorkshire
St Mary Sand Hutton Yorkshire.jpg
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bulmer
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union York
Registration District York
Records begin
Parish registers: 1862
Bishop's Transcripts: 1634
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bulmer
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

HUTTON, SAND, a chapelry, in the parish of Bossall, union of York, wapentake of Bulmer, N. riding of York, 8 miles (N. E.) from York.[1] Sand Hutton is surrounded by the parishes of Bossall, Strensall, Foston, Stockton on the Forest, Upper Helmsley, Warthill, Crambe, Claxton, Skirpenbeck, Scrayingham, Gate Helmsley, and Catton with Stamford Bridge.

Sand Hutton is in the Ryedale district of North Yorkshire.

The ruins of the former church of St Leonard are within the churchyard of St Mary which was built in 1842 to replace the older parish church. The ruins of St Leonard have been designated as a grade II monument British listed building. St Mary has been designated as a Grade II listed building British listed building.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Records from the York registration district are held at the North Yorkshire Registration Service, but many can be found online at Yorkshire BMD. See Yorkshire BMD for more information about this database.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Sand Hutton (near York) parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - ($)
FS = FamilySearch - free
ANC = Ancestry - ($)
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Sand Hutton (near York) Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP

1862-1886


FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
ANC 1538-1975
1538–1973
1538-1991
IGI 1601-1681
1634-1681, 1862-1886


FS Catalog PRs
1862-1886, 1862-1959
1862-1886, 1862-1959
1862-1886, 1862-1959
FS Catalog BTs
1634-1681
1634-1681
1634-1681

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Sand Hutton and comprising the whole ancient parish of Thirsk to which it was attached, see "Church Records" on the Thirsk parish page.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel. A Topographical Dictionary of England (London, 1848): 594-598. https://www.british-history.ac.uk. Accessed 24 September 2018.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk