Sand Parish, Rogaland, Norway Genealogy
Guide to Sand, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records
|Amt 1689-1919||1662-1682: Stavanger stiftamt, |
1682-1919: Stavanger amt
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Records begin in 1695 for Jelsa clerical district. It contains priest and sexton records from the parishes Jelsa, Sand and Erfjord. Erfjord was established in 1877 as its own parish. Included Sand parish until 1858. These records are available on microfilm at the Family History Library.
Digital images of the church books are online at Digitalarkivet.
- Jelsa: 1695-1737, 1753-1796, 1852-1890
*Jelsa / Erfjord: 1878-1898
*Jelsa / Jelsa: 1816-1828, 1854-1928
*Jelsa / Jelsa, Sand: 1796-1853
- Jelsa / Sand: 1816-1828
Census Records[edit | edit source]
- 1664-1666 Census (Manntall)
Sogneprestenes manntall 1664-1666 Microfilm
This census was taken by the local parish priests. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. Both censuses should be searched as they supplement each other. This clerical census is more complete.
This census was taken by the local civil authorities. It lists the names of the farms, farmowners (including widows), sons of farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and sons of cottagers and the age of each person. The clerical authorities took a census during this same time period. Both censuses should be used as they supplement each other. The clerical census is more complete.
- 1701 Census (Manntall)
Manntall 1701 Microfilm
The census of 1701 was taken for military purposes. It lists only the males living in rural districts who were over the age of one year. It includes the farm name, name and age of the owner, names and ages of sons and servants. Also includes the residence of all unmarried males living away from home when the census was taken.
Manntallet 1701 for Stavanger amt Database
- 1801 Census (Folketellingen)
Folketellingen den 1ste februar 1801 for Jelsa Microfilm
The 1801 census (b. 38) for Jelsa clerical district includes Jelsa, Sand, and Erfjord parishes. It lists the farm name, person's name, position in the household, age, marital status, and occupation.
1801-telling for Jelsøe Database
- 1865 Census (Folketellingen)
Folketælling 31 December 1865 for Sand Microfilm
This census contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, martial status, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book.
1865-telling for Sand Database
- 1875 Census (Folketellingen)
Folketellingen for kongeriket Norge den 31te desember 1875 for Sand Microfilm
This 1875 census contains the persons name, whether resident or temporary resident, those absent from the parish and their location at the time of the census, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information.
- 1900 Census (Folketellingen)
Folketellingen for Norge den 3dje desember 1900 for Sand Microfilm
This census contains the persons name, whether resident or temporary resident, those absent from the parish, and their location at the time of the census, position in the family, marital status, occupation, date of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information.
1900-telling for Sand Database
- 1910 Census (Folketellingen]
 Countdown for the release of the 1910 census database.
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Land Records[edit | edit source]
Farm Books[edit | edit source]
History of the farms and genealogy of the farm owners. Salveson, Aamund, "Bygdesoga for Sand i Ryfylke", Stavanger, Norway: Rogalands trykkeri, 1927. 948.31/S9 H2s FHL INTL Book
Farm histories with vital information on farm residents in Sand. Drange, Ernst Berge, "Sand: gardar og folk", Suldal: Suldal kommune, 1997- . 948.31/S9 D2d 3 vols. FHL INTL Book
There is an alphabetical list covering small farms, first names, and immigrants. Drange, Ernst Berge, "Sand Register", Suldal: Suldal kommune, 2000. 948.31/S9 D2d Index FHL INTL Book
Farm Names[edit | edit source]
31 Berge, 19 Bjerge indre, 28 Brommeland
24 Eide, 37 Ersdal
14 Fatland, 9 Fatnes vestre, 39 Førre
27 Hanekam, 32 Hauge, 30 Heim, 25 Helland, 16 Hellesbø, 23 Hylen
34 Lagarhus, 22 Lindvang, 38 Lovernes, 13 Løland
1 Ropeid, 5 Røirvik
34 Sand, 2 Selland, 21 Selland, 33 Skeie, 22 Steinbu og Grimstølen, 11 Steinsland
20 Tengesdal, 8 Tjelmeland, 4 Tysseland
16 Vanvik indre, 36 Vela
17 Ørland, 3 Østebø
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
For 1666-1795 the probates are in the combined Ryfylke and Karmsund judicial district.
For 1786-1876 they are found in Ryfylke judicial district.
The clerical probates for 1729-1807 are found in Ryfylke deanery deanery. `
Availability[edit | edit source]
Sand police station
*1882-1964 death protocol Digitalarkivet
References[edit | edit source]
Drange, Ernst Berge: Sand: Gardar og folk. Vintraleå og Hylsstronnå Gardsnummer 1-23. Utgitt av Suldal Kommune 1997