San Sebastián Huehuetenango, Huehuetenango, Guatemala Genealogy
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Guide to Municipality of San Sebastián Huehuetenango ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, church records, parish registers, and civil registration.
History[edit | edit source]
- From the beginning the town of San Sebastián Huehuetenango was part of the department of Huehuetenango.
- On December 29, 1891 the municipality's request to move the municipal seat to another place was authorized, and that is where it is currently located.
- At that time "Valle de Esquizal" was known, due to the frequent floods that it suffered as a result of the enormous amounts of water that the Rio Grande produced.
- In 1934 it was restored as a municipality.
- The municipality of San Sebastián Huehuetenango has a population of approximately 28,000 people
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
- Registros civiles, 1879-1933 – Click on the link to see the records’ availability.
Parish Records[edit | edit source]
- There are no records for only the municipality of San Sebastián Huehuetenango. See the records of neighboring municipalities.
Census Records[edit | edit source]
- Padrones de Guatemala : nueva matrícula de San Sebastián Güegüetenango, 1819 – Click on the link to see the records’ availability.
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
- Cementerio Municipal de San Sebastián Huehuetenango
- Seven villages and 18 hamlets have their respective cemeteries that are considered private because the neighbors are required to buy the land
Localities[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia Collaborators, "San Sebastián Huehuetenango," In Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, https://es.wikipedia.org/wiki/San_Sebasti%C3%A1n_Huehuetenango. Visited 9 August 2017.