San José del Golfo, Guatemala, Guatemala Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Municipality of San José del Golfo ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, church records, parish registers, and civil registration.

History[edit | edit source]

  • During the Spanish colonial era, Omoa, in present-day Honduras, was the only port on the Atlantic coast near Guatemala; small ships were used to reach the province of Guatemala, those that carried the products that the province needed or exported through the Motagua River, which was navigable to Gualán, from where the products were transported in canoes to Tocoy Tzima to finally transport them to the City of Guatemala in yuntas that passed through San José del Golfo.
  • After the Independence of Central America in 1821, it was assigned to the district of Guatemala.
  • It was founded as a department on March 17, 1882.
  • The department of El Progreso annexed it when it was created on April 13, 1908.
  • The department was dismantled in 1920, and although it was established again in 1934, San José del Golfo remained in the department of Guatemala.
  • The earthquake of February 4, 1976 almost completely destroyed the municipality.
  • The municipality of San José del Golfo has a population of approximately 6,000 people[1]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Catalog English.jpg

Parish Records[edit | edit source]

  • There are no records for only the municipality of San José del Golfo. See the records of neighboring municipalities.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

  • There are no records for only the municipality of San José del Golfo. See the records of neighboring municipalities.

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Localities[edit | edit source]

  • El Caulote
  • La Choleña
  • Concepción Grande
  • Cucajol
  • Encuentro Cucajol
  • Los Encuentro De Nabajas
  • Encuentros de Navajas
  • Loma Tendida
  • Pontezuelas

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia Collaborators, "San José del Golfo," In Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, https://es.wikipedia.org/wiki/San_Jos%C3%A9_del_Golfo. Visited 18 July 2017.