San Joaquin County, California Genealogy
Guide to San Joaquin County, California ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|San Joaquin County, California|
Location in the state of California, United States Genealogy
Location of California in the U.S.
|Founded||February 18, 1850|
|Address||San Joaquin County Courthouse|
24 S Hunter St #304
PO Box 1968
Stockton, CA 95201
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 Historical Facts
- 4 Places/Localities
- 5 Resources
- 5.1 Bible Records
- 5.2 Biography
- 5.3 Cemeteries
- 5.4 Census
- 5.5 Church History and Records
- 5.6 Court Records
- 5.7 Crime and Criminals
- 5.8 Directories
- 5.9 Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
- 5.10 Gazetteers
- 5.11 Genealogy
- 5.12 History
- 5.13 Land and Property
- 5.14 Maps
- 5.15 Migration
- 5.16 Military History and Records
- 5.17 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 5.18 Newspapers
- 5.19 Obituaries
- 5.20 Periodicals
- 5.21 Probate Records
- 5.22 Repositories
- 5.23 Schools
- 5.24 Societies
- 5.25 Taxation
- 5.26 Vital Records
- 5.27 Voting Registers
- 6 Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries
- 7 Websites
- 8 References
County Information[edit | edit source]
San Joaquin County, California Record Dates[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
County Clerk has divorce, probate and court records from 1851
County Recorder has birth, marriage, death and land records
Historical Facts[edit | edit source]
Parent County[edit | edit source]
18 February 1850: San Joaquin was created as an original county. County seat: Stockton 
Description[edit | edit source]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating California county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation California County Boundary Maps" (1850-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Records Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit [HOMETOWN URL For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biography[edit | edit source]
- San Joaquin County Biographies (Genealogy Trails)
- Index to San Joaquin County Biographies (USGenWeb Archives)
- Biographical Indices, San Joaquin County (CAGenWeb Project)
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
The following web sites may have additional information on San Joaquin County cemeteries.
- Interment.net California cemetery records by County.
Census[edit | edit source]
For tips on accessing San Joaquin County, California Genealogy census records online, see: California Census.
- 1850 - San Joaquin County, 1850 Census (CAGenWeb Project)
Church History and Records[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about California denominations, view the California Church Records wiki page.
Church records are usually found in the towns rather than on the county level.
Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
San Joaquin County Court Directory gives addresses, phone numbers, fax numbers and links to the courts websites and online resources..
Crime and Criminals[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Ethnic Groups[edit | edit source]
- Cambodian. The city of Stockton has the fifth largest population of Cambodians in the United States and the second largest in California. The Stockton Cambodian Oral History Project works to preserve the legacy of this important community.
- Chinese. Chinese immigrants began arriving in San Joaquin County during the mid-1800s as part of the California Gold Rush. The city of Stockton soon had the third largest Chinese-American population in the U.S., and was once known as “Sam Fow” (third city, in Cantonese). The Chinese Cultural Society of Stockton (CCSS) has both a website and a Facebook page. The city of Stockton has an annual Chinese New Year Celebration.
- Filipino. From the 1920s to the 1960s, Stockton's Little Manila neighborhood was home to the largest Filipino community outside of the Philippines. Downtown Stockton is home to the Filipino American National Historical Society (FANHS) - Stockton Chapter. The Little Manila Foundation works to preserve the history and remaining structures tied to this historic neighborhood.
- Hmong. The Hmong come from the mountainous regions of southern China, Vietnam, Laos, and Thailand. Hmong refugees began immigrating to the United States in large numbers after the fall of Saigon. The city of Stockton — home to the sixth largest Hmong population in the United States — holds an annual Hmong New Year Celebration, and it is home to the Hmong American Association of San Joaquin, Inc.
- Italian. Italian immigrants have a long history in San Joaquin County. The California Italian American Project has a page about the history of Italians in the city of Stockton. The Pacific Italian Alliance was founded in Stockton in 1991.
- Japanese. The Japanese American Citizens League, Stockton Chapter has a Facebook page.
Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
- Buddhist (Japanese). The Stockton Buddhist Church is a member of Buddhist Churches of America (BSA) based in San Francisco, CA. Website
- Buddhist (Cambodian). Wat Dhammararam Buddhist Temple in Stockton was established in 1982 by refugees escaping war-torn Southeast Asian countries. Website
- Catholic. The Diocese of Stockton was formed in 1962 from territory taken from the Archdiocese of San Francisco and the Diocese of Sacramento. Website
- Sikh. The Stockton Sikh Temple (Gurdwara Sahib Stockton), founded in 1912, is the oldest existing Sikh temple in the United States. Website Facebook page
Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Genealogy[edit | edit source]
History[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for San Joaquin County, California Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section California Local Histories.
Google Books has some books about the history and people in San Joaquin County, California. Try various search terms, including the names of people. Books designated with "Full view" can be read online.
- Index to San Joaquin County History Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- San Joaquin County History Records (CAGenWeb Project)
The San Joaquin Genealogical Society maintains an extensive bibliography of publications about San Joaquin County history and genealogy.
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See California Land and Property for additional information about early California land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Maps[edit | edit source]
For historical maps,search the following free sites:
- Maps-Historical-Sate of California, the Carlifornia government's site. Links to American Memory (Library of Congress), California Missions, and the State Library
- California Maps - HSU Library, also lists and links to gazetteers
Migration[edit | edit source]
- California Trail 1844 to 1869 from western Missouri to northern California
- Carson (River) Trail 1848 (aka Mormon Emigrant Trail) crossed the Forty Mile Desert past the west side of the Carson Sink to pick up the Carson River near Fallon, Nevada up to Hope Valley and Red Lake. The Devil's Ladder then climbed 700 feet (210 m) in half a mile so ropes, chains, and pulleys were required to lift the wagons. Carson Pass was followed by the relatively easy West Pass (Kirkwood, California) and then on to Pollock Pines, Placerville, and Sutter's Fort, California
- 1929-1954 - California, Pioneer Migration Index, Compiled 1906-1935 at FamilySearch — index
Military History and Records[edit | edit source]
The California State Military Museum has a great deal of historical information and links to other military websites.
Ancestry.com has Records of California men in the War of the Rebellion, 1861 to 1867 ($)
Civil War[edit | edit source]
Regiments. Service men in San Joaquin County, California Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in San Joaquin County, California Genealogy:
- - 1st Battalion, California Native Cavalry (Union), Company A
- - 3rd Regiment, California Infantry (Union), Company A
- - 3rd Regiment, California Infantry (Union), Company B
- - 3rd Regiment, California Infantry (Union), Company D
- - 3rd Regiment, California Infantry (Union), Company I
- - 3rd Regiment, California Infantry (Union), Company K
- 1883 - San Joaquin County List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883 (Genealogy Trails)
- 1886 - Civil War Veterans, Rawlins Post No. 23, G. A. R. 1886 Roster (USGenWeb Archives)
World War I[edit | edit source]
- 1914-1918 - California, Geographical and Name Index of Californians who served in WWI, 1914-1918 at FamilySearch — index and images
World War II[edit | edit source]
- Index to San Joaquin County World War II Army Enlistments (USGenWeb Archives)
- San Joaquin County World War II Honor List of Dead and Missing Army and Army Air Forces Personnel (Genealogy Trails)
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- California Digital Newspaper Collection at UCR Center for Bibliographical Studies and Research
- One of the members at the Lodi California Family History Center has compiled an index of Lodi-area obituaries from the 1880s to the 2000s. The Lodi Public Library holds a copy of his work as well. An index exists for The Record (Stockton) if you ask the reference librarian at the Stockton-San Joaquin County Public Library. Neither index is available online at this time, and the papers themselves must be accessed via microfilm.
- There may be some information relevant to the county in the California Digital Newspaper Collection, which has newspapers from 1848 through 1922. You can search by keyword, including names, and/or by date.
A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as San Joaquin County, California Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- Index to San Joaquin County Obituaries (Genealogy Trails)
- Surname Index to San Joaquin County Obituaries (USGenWeb Archives)
- Obituary Links (CAGenWeb Project)
- Funeral Home/Mortuary Obituary/Service Listings for San Joaquin County (CAGenWeb Project)
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
The county clerk is usually the custodian of probate records. The records include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
You can obtain copies of the original probate records (such as wills and estate files) by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for California - San Joaquin - Probate records.
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1782 – 1999 California Wills and Probate Records 1782-1999 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1833 – 1991 California Probate Estate Files 1833-1991 at FamilySearch — images
Repositories[edit | edit source]
Archives, Libraries and Museums[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Introduction to Family History Centers
- Lodi California Family History Center
- Manteca California Family History Center
- Stockton California Family History Center
- Tracy California Family History Center
- Visalia California Family History Center
Schools[edit | edit source]
- Index to San Joaquin County School Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Societies[edit | edit source]
Taxation[edit | edit source]
California tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page California Taxation.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records. The State office has records since July 1905. For earlier records, contact the County Recorder. See also How to order California Vital Records
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1800 - 1994 - California, County Birth and Death Records, 1800-1994 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1812 - 1988 - California Births and Christenings, 1812-1988 at FamilySearch — index
- 1905 - 1995 - California Birth Index, 1905-1995 at FamilySearch — index
- 1905 - San Joaquin County Births (Genealogy Trails)
- Early San Joaquin Birth Notices by year (Genealogy Trails)
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1800 - 2007 - California, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1850 - 1945 - California Marriages, 1850-1945 at FamilySearch — index
- 1850 - 1952 - California, County Marriages, 1850-1952 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1854 - 1885 - Western States Marriage Index.
- 1960 - 1985 - California Marriage Index, 1960-1985 at FamilySearch — index and images
- San Joaquin Marriage Notices by year (Genealogy Trails)
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1776 - 2000 - California Deaths and Burials, 1776-2000 at FamilySearch — index, some images
- 1800 - 1994 - California, County Birth and Death Records, 1800-1994 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1905 - 1939 - California Death Index, 1905-1939 at FamilySearch — index
- 1940 - 1997 - California Death Index, 1940-1997 at FamilySearch — index
- Selected San Joaquin County Deaths (USGenWeb Archives)
Voting Registers[edit | edit source]
Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries[edit | edit source]
San Joaquin County Historical Society
11793 N. Micke Grove Road, Box 21
Lodi CA 95241
Tracy Area Genealogical Society
1141 Adam Street
Tracy, CA 95376-3506
Websites[edit | edit source]
- San Joaquin County, CA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- California Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- [www.cagenweb.com/sanjoaquin/ San Joaquin County CAGenWeb]
- USGenWeb Archives
- FamilySearch Catalog
- San Joaquin County, California Genealogy Trails
- San Joaquin County CA Genealogy (ldsgenealogy.com)
- San Joaquin Genealogical Society
- San Joaquin Genealogical Society on Facebook
References[edit | edit source]
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), San Joaquin County, California. Page 84-88 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 81-83.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), San Joaquin County, California. Page 86 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Genealogy Trails History Group, “San Joaquin County, California Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/cal/sjoaquin/ 05/08/2017.
- Wikipedia contributors, "San Joaquin County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/San_Joaquin_County,_California 05/08/2017.
- Wikipedia contributors, "San Joaquin County, California," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/San_Joaquin_County,_California, accessed 22 September 2019.
- National Park Service, "California Trail" (map) in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/upload/CALImap1-web.pdf (accessed 5 August 2011).
- Wikipedia contributors, "California Trail" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/California_Trail (accessed 5 August 2012).