San Benito County, California Genealogy
|San Benito County, California|
Location in the state of California
Location of California in the U.S.
|Founded||February 12, 1874|
|Address|| San Benito County Court House|
440 5 th St 2nd Floor
Hollister, CA 95023
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 Historical Records
- 4 Places/Localities
- 5 Resources
- 5.1 Bible Records
- 5.2 Biography
- 5.3 Cemeteries
- 5.4 Census
- 5.5 Church History and Records
- 5.6 Court Records
- 5.7 Crime and Criminals
- 5.8 Directories
- 5.9 Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
- 5.10 Gazetteers
- 5.11 Genealogy
- 5.12 History
- 5.13 Land and Property
- 5.14 Maps
- 5.15 Migration
- 5.16 Military History and Records
- 5.17 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 5.18 Newspapers
- 5.19 Obituaries
- 5.20 Periodicals
- 5.21 Probate Records
- 5.22 Repositories
- 5.23 Societies
- 5.24 Taxation
- 5.25 Vital Records
- 5.26 Voting Registers
- 6 Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries
- 7 Websites
- 8 References
San Benito County, California Record Dates
County Clerk has birth marriage, death, burial,
land and naturalization records from 1894
Superior Court has divorce, probate and court records
The county was named after the San Benito Valley. Father Juan Crespi, in his expedition in 1772, named a small river in honor of San Benedicto (Saint Benedict), the patron saint of the married, and it is from the contraction of this name that the county took its name. The county seat Hollister and the county was created 1874. The County is located in the west central area of the state.
For animated maps illustrating California county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation California County Boundary Maps" (1850-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
- Index to San Benito County Biographies (USGenWeb Archives)
- San Benito County Biographies (Genealogy Trails)
- Index to Published Histories and Biographical Works of San Benito County (CAGenWeb Project)
The following web sites may have additional information on San Benito County cemeteries.
- Interment.net California cemetery records by County.
For tips on accessing San Benito County, California Genealogy census records online, see: California Census.
Church History and Records
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about California denominations, view the California Church Records wiki page.
Crime and Criminals
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
Local histories are available for San Benito County, California Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section California Local Histories.
Land and Property
Military History and Records
- 1883 - San Benito County – List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883 (Genealogy Trails)
- 1886 - San Benito County Civil War Veterans, Jesse L. Reno Post No. 58, G. A. R. 1886 (USGenWeb Archives)
World War II
- Index to San Benito County, World War II Army Enlistees (USGenWeb Archives)
- San Benito County World War II Honor List of Dead and Missing Army and Army Air Forces Personnel (Genealogy Trails)
Naturalization and Citizenship
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as San Benito County, California Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- San Benito County Transcribed Obituaries (Genealogy Trails)
- Index to San Benito County Obituaries (USGenWeb Archives)
- Index to San Benito County Obituary and Vital Records Sources (CAGenWeb Project)
The county clerk is usually the custodian of probate records. The records include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
You can obtain copies of the original probate records (such as wills and estate files) by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for California - San Benito - Probate records.
Online Probate Records
- 1782 – 1999 California Wills and Probate Records 1782-1999 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1833 – 1991 California Probate Estate Files 1833-1991 at FamilySearch — images
Archives, Libraries and Museums
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
California tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page California Taxation.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records. The State office has records since July 1905. For earlier records, contact the County Recorder. See also How to order California Vital Records
- Index to Vital Records and Obituary Sources for San Benito County (CAGenWeb Project)
- 1812 - 1988 - California Births and Christenings, 1812-1988 at FamilySearch — index
- 1905 - 1995 - California Birth Index, 1905-1995 at FamilySearch — index
- San Benito County Birth Notices (Genealogy Trails)
- 1850 - 1945 - California Marriages, 1850-1945 at FamilySearch — index
- 1850 - 1952 - California, County Marriages, 1850-1952 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1854 - 1885 - Western States Marriage Index.
- 1960 - 1985 - California Marriage Index, 1960-1985 at FamilySearch — index and images
- San Benito County Marriage Notices (Genealogy Trails)
- 1905 - 1939 - California Death Index, 1905-1939 at FamilySearch — index
- 1940 - 1997 - California Death Index, 1940-1997 at FamilySearch — index
Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries
San Benito County Historical Society
P.O. Box 357
San Benito County Historical Society
498 Fifth Street
Hollister, California 95023
San Juan Bautista Historical Society
PO Box 1
San Juan Bautista, CA 95045
- San Bento County, CA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- California Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- California Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- San Benito County CAGenWeb
- USGenWeb Archives
- FamilySearch Catalog
- San Benito County History and Genealogy (Linkpendium)
- San Benito County, California Genealogy Trails
- San Benito CA Genealogy (LDS Genealogy)
- Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 62-75. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), San Benito County, California. Page 86 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Genealogy Trails History Group, “San Benito County, California Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/cal/sbenito/ 05/08/2017.
- Wikipedia contributors, "San Benito County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/San_Benito_County,_California 05/08/2017.