To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Sampson County, North Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Sampson County, North Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Clinton
Organized: 1784
Parent County(s): Duplin[1]
Neighboring Counties
Bladen  • Cumberland  • Duplin  • Harnett  • Johnston  • Pender  • Wayne
See County Maps
Courthouse
Sampson County, North Carolina Courthouse.jpg
Location Map
Nc-sampson.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
Logonew small.gif This page adopted by:
NCGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Sampson County is located in the Southeastern portion of North Carolina and was named for Colonel John Sampson, a member of the North Carolina House of Commons.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Sampson County Courthouse
435 Rowan Road
PO Box 256
Clinton, NC 28328-4700
Phone: 919-592-8026
Sampson County Website

Register of Deeds has marriage and land records.
Clerk Superior Court has probate records.[3]

Sampson County, North Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1913 1867 1913 1790 1752 1778 1784
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1913. General compliance by 1920.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

1865 Early court records are missing.
1921 Clerk's office fire. Early deed books of Duplin County prior to 1784 are listed herein.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:


Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1784 Sampson County was created from Duplin County.
  • County seat: Clinton[5]

For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

The following are locations in Sampson County, North Carolina:

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Sampson County, North Carolina online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Baptist

  • Beaver Dam. Established by 1789.[6]
  • Black River. Established by 1758.[7]
  • Cowhairy. Established by 1808.[8]
  • Great Cohara aka Rowan. Established 1759.[6]
  • Mingo. Established by 1808.[8]
  • Seven Miles. Established by 1808.[8]
  • Wells Chapel. Minute book 2 (1793-1808) available online.

Presbyterian

  • Black River, near Ivanhoe, N.C. Organized 1740.[9]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

  • Miscellaneous Records: Administrators Sale, Court Minutes, Patents, Trials, Voters. Sampson County (NCGenWeb)

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Ncsampson.png

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

  • Military Records at Sampson County. Includes records for the American Revolution, War of 1812, Civil War, World War II and Vietnam. (NCGenWeb)

Revolutionary War

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Sampson County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Sampson County:

- 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company A
- 5th Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry (63rd Regiment Volunteers), Company C
- 8th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Captain William H Bryan's Company

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

  • Sampson County Historical Society
    2336 Horine Road
    PO Box 1084
    Clinton, NC 28328
    Phone: 910-564-6471
    Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • Sampson County (NCGenWeb)
  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. https://www.ncpedia.org/geography/Sampson
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Sampson County, North Carolina. Page 506-514 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 505-509.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. 6.0 6.1 George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:305, 491. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
  7. Perhaps located in New Hanover County, or another name for Bull Tail, see: George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:304-305. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
  8. 8.0 8.1 8.2 Lemuel Burkitt and Jesse Read, A Concise History of the Kehukee Baptist Association: From Its Original Rise Down to 1808 (1808), Chapter 16. Digital version at archive.org.
  9. "Black River Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
  10. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/f/f5/Iginorthcarolinap.pdf.

To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.