Sampford Brett, Somerset Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Sampford Brett, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Sampford Brett, Somerset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Williton and Freemanners
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Williton
Registration District Williton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1629
Bishop's Transcripts: 1609
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dunster
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Taunton
Location of Archive
Somerset Archives and Local Studies

Parish History[edit | edit source]

SAMPFORD-BRETT (St. George), a parish, in the union of Williton, hundred of Williton and Freemanners, W. division of Somerset, 15 miles (N. W.) from Taunton.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Sampford Brett, Somerset Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[3]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (findmypast) - (£)[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[5]
WEST = West Somerset Parish Register Transcriptions - free[6]
SAMPFORD BRETT PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1691-1860
1685-1910
1654-1676, 1692-1851
JOIN
1685-1837

MARR
1609-1699

NBI

1610-1980
WEST 1692-1860
1685-1966
1692-1851

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Tax records[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/SampfordBrett/index.html


References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 11-15. Date accessed and adapted: 11 April 2013.
  2. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 17 October 2013.
  3. Somerset Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 21 October 2013.
  4. 'Somerset Marriages', findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 30 April 2014.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
  6. West Somerset Parish Register Transcriptions, accessed 22 October 2013.
  7. E 179 Database, The National Archives, http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/e179/, accessed 8 August 2013.