To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Samnanger Parish, Hordaland, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Samnanger, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Samnanger Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/Diocese add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Bergenhus
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1763: Bergenhus, 1763-1919: Søndre Bergenhus
Fylke 1919-Present Hordaland
Region add here
Prestegjeld Os
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Os, Samnanger
Fogderi Nordhordland
Sorenskriveri Midthordland
Skipreide add here


Church Records[edit | edit source]

See Fusa and Os

Census Records[edit | edit source]

See Os

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Lauvskard, Nils,Samnanger, soga um bygdi, gardarne og ætterne, Bergen : Sigurd Olsens Boktrykkeri, 1930-1954. A genealogy of the people and their farms and a history of Samnanger in Hordaland county. FHL 948.32/S1 D2L A farm name index to volume 2 is found in the following link. File:948.32-S1 D2L V2 - Samnanger-2.pdf

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:

102 Aarland nordre 110 Aasen 90 Aasen og Pladset 109 Aldalen

120 Børdal

131 Djupvik

119 Eikedalen

90 Feten 124 Frøland

127 Gaasdalen 129 Gaupholm 109 Gjerde 103 Grundevaagen 116 Grønsdal

111 Haga nordre 122 Haug 92 Haugen nordre 108 Haukenes 109 Heimstedalene 95 Hisdal indre 118 Høisæter 116 Høisætermyren

121 Jarland

99 Kleppe nordre 117 Klevene 100 Kvennes nedre 117 Kvitingen

112 Landsviken 115 Langeland 107 Lauskar 118 Leitet 97 Li 97 Liatangen

112 Mulsviken 90

Nordbø 104 Nordvik 115 Nyutletræet

103 Reistad 87 Rolsvaag 106 Røen

130 Sandvik 96 Skar 86 Skiftesviken 91 Skjeljaaen 109 Slaatten 86 Solbjør 117 Steinhushaugen 110 Steinsland 105 Steintveit 93 Stolpene 97 Stykket 119 Svensdal 132 Sævold

125 Totland 89 Trengereid 114 Tveit nordre 113 Tveiteraas 112 Tysse indre 128 Tysse ytre 126 Tysseland

123 Ulland 133 Utskot

88 Vaage

98 Øen

For a larger list of farms, click here: https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/File:948.32-S1_D2L_V2_-_Samnanger-2.pdf, then click again on the next link.

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

1668-1848: Records are found in Sunnhordaland judicial district.

1848-1895: Records are found in Midhordaland judicial district which was created from Nordhordaland.

1800-1852: Some of the farms in this parish belonged to the Rosendal Estate or Lysekloster Estate. If the probate is not found in the district above look at Hardanger og Voss where the probates for Rosendal and Lysekloster were kept.

1690-1877: Clerical probate records are found in Sunnhordaland Deanery.

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names