Saluda County, South Carolina Genealogy
Guide to Saluda County, South Carolina Genealogy ancestry, family history and genealogy court records, deeds, maps, immigration, maps, military records, newspapers, obituaries, plantations, probate records, slaves, local archives, libraries, museums, churches, cemeteries, and Civil War records.
|Saluda County, South Carolina|
Location in the state of South Carolina, United States Genealogy
Location of South Carolina in the U.S.
|Founded||March 2, 1897|
- 1 County Information
- 2 Saluda County, South Carolina Record Dates
- 3 County Courthouse
- 4 Places/Localities
- 5 Resources
- 5.1 Research Guides
- 5.2 African Americans
- 5.3 Cemeteries
- 5.4 Census
- 5.5 Church History and Records
- 5.6 Court Records
- 5.7 DNA
- 5.8 Genealogy
- 5.9 History
- 5.10 Land and Property
- 5.11 Maps
- 5.12 Military
- 5.13 Newspapers
- 5.14 Periodicals
- 5.15 Probate
- 5.16 Taxation
- 5.17 Vital Records
- 6 Archives, Libraries, and Museums
- 7 Societies - Genealogical, Historical, Lineage
- 8 Family History Centers
- 9 Websites
- 10 References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for the Saluda River. The County is located in the west central area of the state.
Saluda County, South Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Saluda County Courthouse
100 E. Church St.
Saluda, South Carolina 29138
100 E. Church St., Suite 4
Saluda, SC 29138
Probate and marriage records
Clerk of Court
100 E. Church St., Suite 6
Saluda, SC 29138
Court and land records
8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m. Monday - Friday
Quick Facts[edit | edit source]
Parent County[edit | edit source]
County Pronunciation[edit | edit source]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating South Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation South Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1682-1987) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
Resources[edit | edit source]
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
- South Carolina Archives Summary Guide: Saluda County, available online, courtesy: South Carolina Department of Archives and History.
African Americans[edit | edit source]
Known plantations South Carolina Plantations:
- Wheaten Pynes
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|Billion Graves||WorldCat||Billion Graves|
|See South Carolina Cemeteries for more information.|
- To view a cemetery list, see Saluda County, South Carolina Cemeteries.
- National Cemetery Administration
Census[edit | edit source]
- 1829-1920 - South Carolina, State and Territorial Censuses, 1829-1920 at FamilySearch — index and images
1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 federal population schedules of Saluda County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see South Carolina Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than online nationwide indexes.
See South Carolina Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.
Church History and Records[edit | edit source]
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Saluda County has court records from 1896 that are held in the office of the Clerk of Court. In 1896 Saluda County was created from Edgefield County which was a part of the Ninety-Six District from 1785 - 1800. The records of the Ninety-Six District courts are housed in Abbeville County with the Clerk of Court, and the records for Edgefield County are held with that county's Clerk of Court.
DNA[edit | edit source]
Genealogy[edit | edit source]
This bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:
- Locate publications about direct ancestors
- Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
- Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" (Friends, Associates, and Neighbors)
Surname indexes to Leonardo Andrea's Files | Folders | Resources are available online, courtesy: The Andrea Files: South Carolina Genealogical Research. Learn more.
- The Family History of Saluda County 1895-1980, Saluda, South Carolina. n.p.: Inter Collegiate Press, (1980?). FHL 975.738 D3f
- Buff - Buff, L.H. and Janice Gartman Lee. Buffs and Millers Along the Saluda: Some Descendants of Andrew Buff of Central SC. n.p.: L.H. Buff & J.G. Lee, 2001. FHL Book 929.273 B863bL.
- Etheredge - Etheredge, Hamlin Walpole. Our Etheredge Family Circles from 1753 to 1953. Johnston, S.C.: Ridge Citizen Publishers, 1953. Reprint: FHL Book 929.273 Et36eh.
- Gault - Gault, Charles B. Portrait Album of the Family of Mr. and Mrs. Francis Beers Gault of Lake Waccamaw and Wilmington, North Carolina. Typescript. Microfilmed 1971: FHL Film 844967 Item 6.
- Hendricks - Frontier Hendricks Association. Hendricks/etc. in South Carolina Backcountry Elsewhere than in Forks of Broad and Saluda--After the Revolution [Unauthorized]. FHL 929.27305 H385hf
- Jones - Phelps, Dallas LeRoy. Descendants of William A. Jones of Edgefield and Saluda County, S.C. 2003. FHL 1573699 Item 109
- Langford - Langford, George Shealy. Langfords in America Sketches on Early Arrivals and Migrations: Genealogical Recording on Descendants from Early Saluda River, South Carolina Families (Lexington, Newberry, Saluda and Old Edgefield Counties), 1773-1975: Some Related Families [of] Holley, Waters, Shealy, Timms, Robertson. College Park, Md.: Langford, 1977. FHL 929.273 L263a
- Langford - Langford, George Shealy. Sketches About Langfords, 1632-1980. Book 2. College Park, Md.: G.S. Langford, 1981. FHL Book 929.273 L263L.
- Long - Evans, Eytive Long. A Documented History of the Long Family, Switzerland to South Carolina, 1578-1956, Including Allied Families a Documentary Record of the Long (Lang) Family of Newberry, Edgefield, and Saluda Counties, South Carolina, Including Many Allied Families. 1956. FHL 929.273 L85e
- Merchant - Phelps, Dallas LeRoy. The Merchant-Padgett Family of Edgefield and Saluda County, South Carolina. Camden, S.C.: D.L. Phelps, 2008. FHL 929.273 M535pda
- Padgett - Paget, James Suddath and Dallas LeRoy Phelps. Watson-Smith-Padgett Families of Edgefield and Saluda Counties, South Carolina. 1995. FHL 1750833 Item 19
- Padgett - Phelps, Dallas LeRoy. Descendants of Mark Manuel Padget, Edgefield County, South Carolina. Camden, S.C.: D.L. Phelps, 1998. FHL Book 929.273 P133pd.
- Padgett - Phelps, Dallas LeRoy. The Merchant-Padgett Family of Edgefield and Saluda County, South Carolina. Camden, S.C.: D.L. Phelps, 2008. FHL 929.273 M535pda
- Rucker - Holcomb, Brent H. and Katherine L. Hester. The Rucker Family of South Carolina, 1752-1983. Greenville, S.C.: A Press, 1983. FHL Book 929.273 R828h.
- Smith - Paget, James Suddath and Dallas LeRoy Phelps. Watson-Smith-Padgett Families of Edgefield and Saluda Counties, South Carolina. 1995. FHL 1750833 Item 19
- Watson - Paget, James Suddath and Dallas LeRoy Phelps.Watson-Smith-Padgett Families of Edgefield and Saluda Counties, South Carolina. 1995. FHL 1750833 Item 19
History[edit | edit source]
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
Because of South Carolina’s history as an agricultural state many residents owned land. For more information abou types of land records see South Carolina Land and Property.
Tracing records through South Carolina county and district changes can be difficult. In general, for earliest records begin by searching the Charleston District, then your ancestor’s residential district, then neighboring districts, then the residential county, then neighboring counties. Not all districts and counties kept records. The following chart shows where you may best expect to find land records for Saluda County:
|1785-1800||Edgefield County (old) *|
|1710-1719||Proprietary Land Grants|
* First deed book is missing
Plats For State Land Grants 1784-1868
This series consists of recorded copies of plats for state land grants for the Charleston and the Columbia Series with their certificates of admeasurement or certification. All personal names and geographic features on these plats are included in the repository's On-line Index to Plats for State Land Grants
The South Carolina Constitution of 1790 required the surveyor general to maintain offices in both the new capital at Columbia and in Charleston. The surveyor general began to use separate volumes for recording plats in his Columbia office in 1796. Before that, all plats were recorded in the set of volumes begun in Charleston in 1784. After 1796, most plats for land grants in the Upper Division of the state were recorded and filed in Columbia. The surveyor general chose to make the Columbia volumes a continuation of the state plat volumes begun in Charleston and gave the initial Columbia volume the number thirty-six to correspond with the number of the volume that had then been reached in the Charleston series. As a result, there are volumes numbered thirty-six through forty-three from each office, but the records in them are not duplicative.
Also included are the Plan Books containing Plats and Plans.
Maps[edit | edit source]
Military[edit | edit source]
Revolutionary War[edit | edit source]
- "Veterans list, (sel.)," Genealogical Roots and Branches, Winter 2001, Volume 22, Issue 4. Old Ninety-Six Chapter: Greenwood, SC.
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1865 - South Carolina Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861 - 1865 U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861 - 1865 U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
Regiments. Saluda County did not exist during the Civil War. Present day Saluda County was created 25 February 1896 from Edgefield County. During the Civil War, men from the area of Saluda County mostly would have served in various regiments recruited in Edgefield County. Counties were called districts during the Civil War.
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
The Library of Congress has identified the following historic newspapers for Saluda County, South Carolina on their Chronicling America website. For publication details, including dates of publication, frequency, preceding and succeeding titles, and to find out which libraries have holdings, click on the newspaper title.
- Saluda Standard-Sentinel (Saluda, S.C.) 1973-current.
- The Saluda Advocate (Mt. Willing, S.C.) 1895-1900.
- The Saluda County Sentinel (Saluda, S.C.) 1946-1973.
- The Saluda Sentinel (Dennys, S.C. and Newberry, S.C.) 1895-1903.
- The Saluda Standard (Saluda, S.C.) 1902-1973.
- The Ticket (Mt. Willing, S.C.) 1895-1895.
University of South Carolina Library Catalog
- Historical Newspapers of South Carolina at University of South Carolina Libraries - not complete
- Saluda Standard-Sentinel (Saluda, S.C.) Online edition.
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers new to their area may not encounter. Periodicals at various levels (county, region, and state) may carry articles useful to research in this area. For this county, see:
Probate[edit | edit source]
Probate is the “court procedure by which a will is proved to be valid or invalid” and encompasses “all matters and proceedings pertaining to the administration of estates, guardianships, etc.” Various types of records are created throughout the probate process. These may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information see probate records in South Carolina.
The South Carolina Department of Archives and History has microfilms or typescripts of wills, inventories, bills of sale, power of attorneys, bonds, notes, administrations, judgments, and sales records. They have placed Will Transcriptions for 1782 to 1855 online. Index searchable by name, and images are available. Some estate records for Saluda County available on microfilm.
Probate records for Saluda County may be found in the court of ordinary or probate court, and the court of equity.
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1670-1980 - South Carolina Wills and Probate Records 1670-1980 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1671-1977 - South Carolina Carolina Probate Records, Bound Volumes 1671-1977 at FamilySearch — images
- 1732-1964 - South Carolina Probate Records, Files and Loose Papers 1732-1964 at FamilySearch — images
- 1782-1866 - South Carolina, Will Transcripts 1782-1866 at findmypast — $, index
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Tax-related records are kept by the offices of the county Assessor, Auditor, Sheriff, and Treasurer. Taxes were levied on real and personal property and can help establish ages, residences, relationships, and the year an individual died or left the area. They can be used as substitutes for missing or destroyed land and census records.
- South Carolina Department of Archives and History tax lists for Saluda County.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriage, and death records were not recorded by South Carolina until the 1900s, thus leaving a lack of vital records. Substitute records, when available, are used to obtain this information. These substitute records including newspapers, court records have been added to this section, when applicable.
Birth[edit | edit source]
State-wide birth registration began in 1915. For a copy of a birth from 1915 or later, contact the South Carolina Department of Health. The Saluda County Health Department also has copies but they provide only an abbreviated form with limited information. For more information, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.
- 1766-1900 - South Carolina, Delayed Birth Certificates, 1766-1900 at FamilySearch — images
Marriage[edit | edit source]
In South Carolina, marriage licenses were not required by local governments until 1 July 1911. However, in the 1700s, the Church of England parish churches were required to record all marriages - even if the couple were not members of the denomination. Not all churches recorded these marriages and some have not survived. See South Carolina Vital Records for more information.
The Saluda County probate court holds marriage licenses issued from 1 July 1911 to the present. Statewide registration of marriages began in July 1950 and the South Carolina Division of Vital Records has copies of licenses issued after 1 July 1950 through November 2009.
Newspapers are used as a substitute to locate marriage information. See South Carolina Newspapers.
Marriages - Indexes and Records
- 1911-1950 - Saluda County, South Carolina Marriage Licenses, 1911-1950  FHL Collection - records
- 1911-2000 - Saluda County, South Carolina Marriage Registers, 1911-ca. 2000  FHL Collection - index and records
- There are several online marriage indexes containing miscellaneous marriage records found in some counties of South Carolina listed on the South Carolina Vital Records page.
Death[edit | edit source]
State-wide death registration began in 1915. For a copy of the death certificates from 1915 or later, contact the South Carolina Department of Health. The Saluda County Health Department only has copies for deaths occurring in the last 5 years. For more information, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.
Deaths - Indexes and Records
- 1816-1990 - South Carolina Deaths and Burials, 1816-1990 at FamilySearch — index
- 1915-1965 - South Carolina Deaths, 1915-1965 at FamilySearch — index and images
- State-wide South Carolina Death Indexes. There are several online death indexes covering all of South Carolina listed on the South Carolina Vital Records page.
Archives, Libraries, and Museums[edit | edit source]
[edit | edit source]
101 South Main Street
Saluda, SC 29138
Phone: Number: (864) 445-4500
Hours: Monday, Wednesday, Friday 8:30-5:00, Tuesday, Thursday 8:30-6:00, Saturday, Sunday Closed
The Saluda County Library has genealogy and local history offerings.
Ridge Spring Libraryand Welcome Center
636 Main Street
Ridge Spring, SC 29129
Phone Number: 803-685-BOOK (2665)
Hours: Monday 9:30-1:00, Tuesday 9:30-1:00, Thursday 8:30-12:30, Friday 12:30-5:00, Saturday 9:00-12:00
Museums[edit | edit source]
Saluda County Historical Museum & Theatre
105 Law Range
Saluda, SC 29138
Telephone: (864) 445-8550
This museum houses historical artifacts and ancestral information pertaining to Saluda County
Societies - Genealogical, Historical, Lineage[edit | edit source]
Saluda County Historical Society
P.O. Box 22
Saluda SC 29138
source: Society Hill
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Saluda County, SC History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Genealogy Inc)
- Saluda County, SCGenWeb
- Saluda County, South Carolina Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Saluda, South Carolina," in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Saluda_County,_South_Carolina. accessed 15/07/2019
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Saluda County, South Carolina. Page 611-615 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 607-608.
- List of counties in South Carolina
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Voice of Phillip Stalvey, resident of Myrtle Beach, S.C. (2011).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Saluda County, South Carolina," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Saluda_County,_South_Carolina, accessed 28 December 2019.
- Schweitzer, George K. , South Carolina Genealogical Research (Knoxville, Tennessee: s.p. 1985), 39-42, FHL book 975.7 D27s
- Henry Campbell Black, Black's Law Dictionary, 5th ed. (St. Paul, Minnesota: West Publishing Co., 1979), 1081, "probate."
- South Carolina, Probate Court (Saluda County), Saluda County, South Carolina Marriage Licenses, 1911-1950, Salt Lake City, UT: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2001.
- Saluda County, South Carolina Marriage Registers, 1911-ca. 2000, Salt Lake City, UT: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2001.