Salisbury St Martin, Wiltshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Wiltshire
Wiltshire Parishes
Salisbury St Martin

Guide to Salisbury St Martin, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Salisbury St Martin, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salisbury; Underditch
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Salisbury
Registration District Alderbury; Salisbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1586
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Salisbury
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of the Sub-Dean of Salisbury
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Parish History

Salisbury (or New Sarum). A parish and municipal border, city, and county town of Wiltshire, on the Upper Avon, at confluence of the Bourne and the Nadder and Wiley, 28 miles W. of Winchester and 83 SW. of London by rail. The city comprises the parish of St. Edmund, part of St. Martin's,which is a vicarage, and the parish of St. Thomas, which is a perpetual currency.  The extra parochial district of the Cathedral Close is the grammar school for the education of eight boys.There are places of worship for Independents, Baptists, Wesleyans, Unitarians, and Roman Catholics.[1]


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Salisbury St Martin parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[4]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[5]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[6]
SALISBURY ST MARTIN PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI
1794-1905

IGI 1794-1895
JOIN
1559-1812

NIM
1559-1837

TGEN
1559-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A. Topographical Dictionary of England1848),pp.5-11. Adapted 13 April 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 10 January 2014.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Wiltshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 14 January 2014.
  4. Wiltshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 September 2013.
  5. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.
  6. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.