Saline County, Missouri Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Missouri
Saline County

Guide to Saline County, Missouri ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Marshall
Organized: November 25, 1820
Parent County(s): Cooper, Howard[1]
Neighboring Counties
Carroll  • Chariton  • Cooper  • Howard  • Johnson  • Lafayette  • Pettis
See County Maps
Courthouse
MissouriSalineCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Missouri Saline County Map.svg.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The county was named for the salt springs in the region. The county has Marshall as its seat and the county was created November 25, 1820. The County is located in the center area of the state. [2]

County Courthouse

Saline County Courthouse
101 E. Arrow Street
Marshall, MO 63340
Phone: 660-886-3331
Saline County Website

County Clerk has birth and death records 1883-1885.[3]

Saline County, Missouri Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1883 1835 1883 1821 1821 1821 1830
Statewide registration started in 1910 for births and deaths. General compliance for births by 1927 and deaths by 1911.

Record Loss

1864 Courthouse burned in August 1864.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes

  • 1820 Saline County was created November 25, 1820 from Cooper and Howard Counties.
  • County seat: Marshall[5]

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Saline County, Missouri:

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Saline County, Missouri online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Missouri Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

For tips on accessing Saline County, Missouri Genealogy census records online, see: Missouri Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Catholic
Immaculate Conception, Shackelford

  • 1849-1876 Immaculate Conception, Shackelford, Baptism Index 1849-1876. Batch C511901 at FamilySearch.
  • 1867-1885 Immaculate Conception, Shackelford, Marriage Index 1867-1885. Batch M511901 at FamilySearch.

St. Joseph, Slater

  • 1866-1876 St. Joseph, Slater, Baptism Index 1866-1876. Batch C515041 at FamilySearch.

St. Peter's, Marshall

  • 1871-1876 St. Peter's, Marshall, Baptism Index 1871-1876. Batch C511891 at FamilySearch.[6]
  • 1872-1885 St. Peter's, Marshall, Marriage Index 1872-1885. Batch M511891 at FamilySearch.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Saline County, Missouri Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

  • Along the Old Trail, volume I, Pioneer Sketches of Arrow Rock and Vicinity. By Thomas Claiborne Rainey. 1914. Marshall, Missouri : Daughters of the American Revolution. Marshall Chapter. Available online at FamilySearch
  • Diamond Jubilee of The Annunciation and Immaculate Conception Parish, The First Catholic Church in Saline Co., Mo., The Irish Settlement A.D. 1840. By Francis E. Rigney. 1927. [S. l.] : Jubilee Committee. Available online at FamilySearch
  • History of Saline County, Missouri : including a history of its townships, cities, towns and villages. 1881. St. Louis, Missouri : Missouri Historical Co. Available online at FamilySearch

Maps and Gazetteers

{{{county}}}

Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments Civil War service men from Saline County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Saline County.

Confederate Units:

- 5th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry, Company D, which became Marmaduke's Escort Company, Missouri Cavalry
- 5th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company D
- 5th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company E

Union Units:

- 71st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
- 71st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
- 5th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
- 5th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
- 71st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
- 71st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
- 71st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
- 71st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Independent Company

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Saline County, Missouri Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Newspaperarchive.com ($) has historical newspapers available on-line. Their database has Sedalia newspapers from the late 1800's and early 1900's that sometimes included Saline County residents.

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

  • Saline County Historical Society
    101 Lafayette Avenue
    Marshall, MO 65340
    Phone: 660-886-7546

Websites

  • Missouri Digital Heritage. Free. digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
  • MOGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • FamilySearch Catalog . Free. - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
  • RootsWeb resources. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • StateofUS. Free. family history resources and government records
  • Missouri Genealogy. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Saline County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Saline_County,_Missouri, accessed 17 Sept 2018.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Saline County, Missouri. Page 397-407 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 393-397.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f4/Igimissourir.pdf.