Saline County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Arkansas
Saline County
 

Guide to Saline County, Arkansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Benton
Organized: November 2, 1835
Parent County(s): Pulaski and Hempstead[1]
Neighboring Counties
Perry County  • Pulaski County  • Grant County  • Hot Spring County  • Garland
See County Maps
Courthouse
ArkansasSalineCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Ar-saline.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The county was named for the salt water springs in the area. The County Seat is Benton and was founded November 2, 1835.[2] It is located in the central area of the state.[3]

County Courthouse

Saline County Courthouse
215 North Main Ste 9;
Benton, AR 72015
Phone: 501.303.5630
Saline County Website

County Clerk has marriage and probate records from 1836 and land records from 1871.[4]

Saline County, Arkansas

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1914* 1836 1914* 1836 1871 1836 1830
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1835--Saline County was created 2 November 1835 from Pulaski and Hempstead Counties. 
  • County seat: Benton[6]

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in the county:[7]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Townships


History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Saline County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture. [8]

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Saline, Arkansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Arkansas Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1840 2,061
1850 3,903 89.4%
1860 6,640 70.1%
1870 3,911 −41.1%
1880 8,953 128.9%
1890 11,311 26.3%
1900 13,122 16.0%
1910 16,657 26.9%
1920 16,781 0.7%
1930 15,660 −6.7%
1940 19,163 22.4%
1950 23,816 24.3%
1960 28,956 21.6%
1970 36,107 24.7%
1980 53,161 47.2%
1990 64,183 20.7%
2000 83,529 30.1%
2010 107,118 28.2%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

  • Probate Records 1836-1955 Saline County portion of the collection: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Administration bonds 1850-1862; Administration bonds and letters 1870-1904; Administration records index 1862-1870; County Court records 1836-1848; Dockets 1839-1891; Executor records 1862-1951; Guardian bonds and letters 1861-1922; Probate records 1836-1955; Wills 1842-1861.

Land and Property Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

  • Biographical and Historical Memoirs of Pulaski, Jefferson, Lonoke, Faulkner, Grant, Saline, Perry, Garland, and Hot Spring Counties, Arkansas. Chicago, Nashville, and St. Louis, USA: Goodspeed Publishing, 1889. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)

Maps and Gazetteers

Perry CountyPulaski CountyGrant CountyHot Spring CountyGarland CountyAR SALINE.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Revolutionary War

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital version at Google Books. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Arkansas, Saline County on page 191.]

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Saline County served in various regiments and companies. Those listed below were specifically formed in this county:

- 1st Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company E
- 1st Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Colquitt's) (Confederate)
- 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Confederate), Company C
- 6th Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Confederate), Company H
- 11th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)
- 18th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company H
- 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Union)[9], Companies A, C, and L

Online Records

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Saline County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Vital Records

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

  • ARGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • RootsWeb resources. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Saline County, Arkansas Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ark/saline/
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Saline County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Saline_County,_Arkansas
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Saline County, Arkansas. Page 70 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 67.
  6. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Saline County, Arkansas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Saline_County,_Arkansas, accessed 27 September 2018.
  8. Eddie G. Landreth, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=804&type=Category&item=Counties&parent=Counties%2c+Cities%2c+and+Towns&grandparent=+%3a+accessed+January+6%2c+2016)%2c : accessed January 15, 2016), “Saline County.”
  9. Desmond Walls Allen, Third Arkansas Union Cavalry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1987), p. 33-92. FHL book 976.7 M28dc
  10. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.
  11. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d7/Arkansasnz.pdf.