Salford St Matthias, Lancashire Genealogy
Guide to Salford St Matthias, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Salford St Matthias, Lancashire|
|Poor Law Union||Salford|
|Parish registers: None|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1842|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Lancashire Record Office|
Chapelry History[edit | edit source]
St Matthias Salford was created as a district church in the year 1842. It is near Broughton bridge, Salford and was built by the Ten-Churches Association of Manchester to handle the burgeoning growth of population in that township. It lay within the civil parish boundaries of Manchester St Mary and St Denys (The Cathedral Church). A building formerly belonging to the Methodist New Connexion, and to which a new front has been added in the Norman style, was consecrated as a church in November 1844; it is now called Christ Church, and is situated in Blackburn-street.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD
Church Records[edit | edit source]
- 1538 - 1910 England, Lancashire, Parish Registers 1538-1910 at FamilySearch — index
- 1603 - 1910 England, Lancashire, Cheshire, Yorkshire, Parish Registers, 1603-1910 at FamilySearch — index and images
Online transcriptions exist for Salford St Matthias' Chapelry and its eleven sister chapelries comprising this very large township suburb in Manchester ancient parish (the Cathedral of Our Lady, St George and St Denys).
From the websites displayed below, you will find the links to the available ranges of years for which online data (transcriptions) are found:
|AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)|
|FMP = findmypast (£)|
|FREG = FreeReg|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk|
|LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk|
|SALFORD ST MATTHIAS Chapelry (1842) Indexes|
|SALFORD ST BARTHOLOMEW Chapelry (1842) Indexes|
|FS||1842-1897||1842-1930 - part.||None|
|SALFORD CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry (1831) Indexes|
|SALFORD ST GEORGE CHARLESTOWN Chapelry (1854) Indexes|
|SALFORD ST JOHN THE EVANGELIST Chapelry (1838) Indexes|
|LBMD||1838-1900||1838-1940 - part.||None|
|SALFORD ST LUKE (WEASTE) Chapelry (1866) Indexes; see also Eccles Parish|
|FS||1865-1936 - part.||1866-1933 - part.||None|
|LBMD||1866-1900 - part.||1866-1940||None|
|SALFORD ST PHILIP Chapelry (1826) Indexes|
|FS||1826-1914||1838-1935 - part.||1833-1840|
|FREG||1826-1864 - part.||1865-1891 - part.||1834-1888|
|SALFORD SACRED TRINITY Chapelry (1636) Indexes|
|FS||1636-1685; 1708-1738; 1741-1864||1709-1882||1709-1854|
|SALFORD ST CLEMENTS Chapelry (1881) Indexes|
|SALFORD ST SIMON Chapelry (1846) Indexes|
|SALFORD ST STEPHEN Chapelry (1794) Indexes|
|FS||1794-1931 - part.||1838-1957 - part.||1805-1865 (part.)|
|SALFORD STOWELL MEMORIAL Chapelry (1869) Indexes|
|FS||1869-1921 - part.||1869-1940 - part.||1949-1968 - part.|
MANCHESTER CATHEDRAL - OUR LADY, ST GEORGE AND ST DENYS (1573) Indexes
|LOPC||1573-1616;1777-1837||1573-1616;1782-1836 - part. yrs||1573-1616;1792-1836 - part. yrs|
To view a full list of all (150-plus) chapelries, ecclesiastical parishes and district chapels in the ancient parish of Manchester, and their links to online data for their baptism, marriage and burial registers, visit the MANCHESTER (CATHEDRAL), OUR LADY, ST GEORGE & ST DENYS page.
Original parish and chapel registers are held at the Manchester Record Office, William Brown Street, Manchester L3 8EW, United Kingdom. FamilySearch has microfilmed the original parish (chapelry) registers for Salford St Matthias as follows: Salford- St Matthias
Baptisms-1842-1906- MFPR 1730
Baptisms-1906-1962- MFPR 1731
Marriages-1858-1906- MFPR 1732
Marriages-1906-1966- MFPR 1733
The Manchester Room and Greater Manchester County Record Office
The Manchester Room@City Library (Local Studies)
Bishop's transcripts for Salford area churches, 1635-1889 Microreproduction of original manuscripts housed at the Lancashire Record Office, Preston.
Includes the following chapelries from the town of Salford, (parish of Manchester): Trinity, Christchurch, St. Matthias, St. Phillip and St. Stephen.
The title board for item 1 has incorrect dates. It should read, 1635- 1777.
Lancashire Record Office: DRM/2/217-219
|Baptisms and burials of Trinity Church, 1826-1836; baptisms, 1885-1889; baptisms of St. Matthias, 1842-1846; baptisms and burials of St. Philip, 1833-1840; baptisms and burials of St. Stephen, 1808-1844 (includes marriages from 1838)
||FHL BRITISH Film |
1545654 Items 4-5
Non Conformist Records[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images (coverage may vary)
- 1647-1996 England, Lancashire Non-conformist Church Records, 1647-1996 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index (dates may vary by parish)
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 221-247.