Salford Sacred Trinity, Lancashire Genealogy
Guide to Salford Sacred Trinity, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Salford Sacred Trinity, Lancashire|
|Poor Law Union||Salford|
|Parish registers: 1709|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1635|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Lancashire Record Office|
Chapelry History[edit | edit source]
SALFORD, Sacred Trinity, an ancient chapel and one of twelve chapelries in Salford Township (as of 1885), and lying within the civil parish of Manchester. Salford is also a district, and a hundred, in Lancashire. The borough boundaries are the same municipally as parliamentarily; and include all Salford, Pendleton, and Broughton townships, and part of Pendlebury. The chapel was created by 1635.
The places of worship in Salford in 1851, were 13 of the Church of England; 1 of the 'Church of Scotland; 6 of Independents; 2 of Baptists; 1 of Unitarians; 7 of Wesleyans; 1 of New Connexion Methodists; 2 of Primitive Methodists; 3 of the Wesleyan Association; 1 of Welsh Calvinistic Methodists; 1 of the New Church; 1 of Roman Catholics; and 1 of Latter Day Saints.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
- 1538 - 1910 England, Lancashire, Parish Registers 1538-1910 at FamilySearch — index
- 1603 - 1910 England, Lancashire, Cheshire, Yorkshire, Parish Registers, 1603-1910 at FamilySearch — index and images
Online transcriptions exist for Salford Sacred (Holy) Trinity Chapelry and its eleven sister chapelries in this very large suburb in Manchester ancient parish (the Cathedral).
Listed below are all the chapels serving Salford Township and the web-links to online data (transcriptions) and the ranges of years:
|AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)|
|FMP = findmypast (£)|
|FREG = FreeReg|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk|
|LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk|
|SALFORD SACRED TRINITY Chapelry (1636) Indexes|
|FS||1636-1685; 1708-1738; 1741-1864||1709-1882||1709-1854|
|SALFORD CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry (1831) Indexes|
|SALFORD ST BARTHOLOMEW Chapelry (1842) Indexes|
|FS||1842-1897||1842-1930 - part.||None|
|SALFORD ST CLEMENTS Chapelry (1881) Indexes see Ordsall|
|SALFORD ST GEORGE CHARLESTOWN Chapelry (1854) Indexes|
|SALFORD ST JOHN THE EVANGELIST Chapelry (1838) Indexes|
|LBMD||1838-1900||1838-1940 - part.||None|
|SALFORD ST LUKE (WEASTE) Chapelry (1866) Indexes; see also Eccles Parish|
|FS||1865-1936 - part.||1866-1933 - part.||None extant til 1951|
|LBMD||1866-1900 - part.||1866-1940||None|
|SALFORD ST MATTHIAS Chapelry (1842) Indexes|
|SALFORD ST PHILIP Chapelry (1826) Indexes|
|FS||1826-1914||1838-1935 - part.||1833-1840|
|FREG||1826-1864 - part.||1865-1891 - part.||1834-1888|
|SALFORD STOWELL MEMORIAL Chapelry (1869) Indexes|
|FS||1869-1921 - part.||1869-1940 - part.||1949-1968 - part.|
|SALFORD ST SIMON Chapelry (1846) Indexes|
|SALFORD ST STEPHEN Chapelry (1794) Indexes|
|FS||1794-1931 - part.||1838-1957 - part.||1805-1865 (part.)|
MANCHESTER CATHEDRAL - OUR LADY, ST GEORGE AND ST DENYS (1573) Indexes
|LOPC||1573-1616;1777-1837||1573-1616;1782-1836 - part. yrs||1573-1616;1792-1836 - part. yrs|
To view a full list of all Manchester ancient parish's (150-plus) chapelries, ecclesiastical parishes and district chapels, and their links to online data for their baptism, marriage and burial registers, visit the MANCHESTER (CATHEDRAL), OUR LADY, ST GEORGE & ST DENYS page.
Original parish and chapel registers are held at the Manchester Record Office, William Brown Street, Manchester L3 8EW, United Kingdom.
The Manchester Room and Greater Manchester County Record Office
The Manchester Room@City Library (Local Studies)
FamilySearch has microfilmed these original parish (chapelry) registers and they are available for viewing
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Taxation[edit | edit source]
- 1541 - 1541 Subsidy of Salforde (p. 138)
- 1622 - 1622 Subsidy of Salforde cum Hamell' de Broughton (p. 148)
Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
References[edit | edit source]
- John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870).
- J.P. Earwaker, Three Lancashire Subsidy Rolls, viz., for the Hundred of Salford, 1541, the Hundred of Salford, 1622 and the Hundred of Leyland, 1628, Together with a Recusant Roll for the Hundred of Leyland, in 1628 (London: Record Society of Lancashire and Cheshire, 1885). Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.