Saint Michael Parish, Barbados

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Barbados Wiki Topics
Flag of Barbados.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Barbados Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Barbados
Saint Michael Parish

Guide to Saint Michael Parish family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Parish of Saint Michael
Barbados ORP.png
Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg


Early History

The earliest parish registers for St. Michael, Barbados begin with the first baptism record in January of 1648 with Bates, Bird and Leak.

The first marriages in this parish also appear in January of 1648 with surnames such as Anderson, Barker, Champion, Collison, Dodson, Fletcher, George, Jones, Lawrence, Lewis, Masters, Morgain, Munnes, Palmer, Pike, Read, Richardson, Smith, Thomas, Vaughn, Warren, and Web. These were quickly followed by other well known names from that period, that continue to this day, with the likes of Abram, Barrett, Bontly, Bragg, Bryor, Chamberlane, Courte, Cunninghm, Durham, Edges, Elfard, Ellicott, Ellis, Fredricks, Goodwing, Grimes, Harris, Hill, Hodgkinson, Horne, Kips, Lurston, Nichols, Oldfield, Pattisson, Porringer, Porter, Poscote, Powell, Robinson, Rosco, Shakell, Spencer, Stevens, Sutton, Thorne, Tibbs, Tillison, Udner, Vandeure, Vines, Watson, When, Wilson’’.

Websites

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Saint Michael, Barbados

References