Saint James Parish, Barbados

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Barbados Wiki Topics
Flag of Barbados.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Barbados Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Barbados
Saint James Parish

Guide to Saint James Parish family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Parish of Saint James
Barbados ORP.png
Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg


St. James Parish Church, originally from 1628

Early History

The earliest parish registers for St. James, Barbados begin with the first baptism record in January of 1693 with Sarah Waite, the daughter of William and Ann.

The first marriages in this parish appear in November 1693 with surnames such as Afflick, Burrowes, Butler, Cuthbert, Dyer, Gibson, Kensworth, Nicholls, Ramsay, Reece, Reedle, and Reid. These were quickly followed by other well known names from that period, that continue to this day, with the likes of Alleyne, Alumby, Andrews, Angel, Bartlett, Benjamin, Berringer, Blackman, Bowland, Bramwell, Browne, Burch, Cambell, Careen, Carley, Carnick, Chace, Chester, Chilcott, Clements, Clifford, Coxe, Craven, Daniel, Dean, Donavan, Dooly, Dowell, Eaton, Farcharsson, Ford, Gascorne, Gold, Gyles, Haines, Hanson, Harris, Harwood, Haynes, Hearne, Henry, Hofford, Hookes, Howell, Hughes, Hutchins, Ince, Ireland, Irvine, James, Jemmott, Johnson, Johnston, Jones, Knatchbull, Lamming, Marshall, Martin, Masterson, Mayhew, Mckloud, Melberry, Mellows, Middleton, Mildmay, Morgan, Nansan, Nelson,, Parsons, Perry, Phillips, Power, Pyke, Rawley, Rawlinson, Reynolds, Robinson, Sanderson, Scott, Seatton, Sinclaire, Smith, Smithwick, Southwood, Stevens, Stout, Swain, Tempro, Thomas, Topham, Tovie, Treasure, Tucker, Wade, Walker, Walters, Wells, Williams, and Wood.

Websites

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Saint James, Barbados

References