Saint George Parish, Barbados

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Barbados Wiki Topics
Flag of Barbados.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Barbados Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Barbados
Saint George Parish

Guide to Saint George Parish family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Parish of Saint George
Barbados ORP.png
Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg


Early History

The earliest parish registers for St. George, Barbados seem to be missing since the first baptism records begin almost a century late in April of 1801 with Joseph Nowell.

The first marriages for this parish also appear to begin in 1801 with surnames such as Ayshford, Bourne, Byer, Earle, Finney, French, Garnes, Gibson, John, Kinch, King, Massett, McConney, Nicholls, Perkins, Quinsey, Storey, Turney, and Wright. These were quickly followed by other well known names from that period with the likes of Archer, Austin, Baker, Bailey, Banfield, Barker, Barrow, Beard, Bell, Boxill, Brewster, Brown, Bryan, Burnett, Caddell, Carrington, Cattlewell, Chapman, Clarke, Clinton, Cobham, Cocklyn, Cox, Crouch, Dash, Edwards, Farnum, Fitzpatrick, Fleming, Franklin, Gale, Garey, Gill, Goddard, Grant, Gregory, Harding, Henery, Hill, Holder, Hope, Howard, Hunte, Hutchinson, Johnson, Jones, Jordan, King, Layne, Lewis, Long, Lucas, Mahon, Mapp, Marsh, McAndrew, Moore, Morris, Mottley, Murray, Murrell, Niles, Odwin, Padmore, Partridge, Perch, Perkins, Pollard, Ramsey, Reece, Richards, Riley, Roach, Roberts, Shepherd, Simpson, Sinckler, Smith, Swan, Tempro, Toppin, Turton, Wall, Walton, Ward, Watts, Welch, Whaley, Wheelwright, Wickham, Wilkinson, and Woodroofe.

Websites

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Saint George, Barbados

References