Sagadahoc County, Maine Genealogy
Guide to Sagadahoc County, Maine ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Sagadahoc County, Maine|
Location in the state of Maine
|Founded||March 14, 1854|
|Address|| Sagadahoc County Courthouse|
PO Box 246
Bath, ME 04530-0246
Sagadahoc County Website
- 1 Description
- 2 Sagadahoc County, Maine Record Dates
- 3 County Courthouse
- 4 History
- 5 Places / Localities
- 6 Resources
- 6.1 Cemeteries
- 6.2 Church
- 6.3 Court
- 6.4 Emigration and Immigration
- 6.5 Gazetteers
- 6.6 Land
- 6.7 Local Histories
- 6.8 Maps
- 6.9 Military
- 6.10 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 6.11 Newspapers
- 6.12 Probate
- 6.13 Taxation
- 6.14 Vital Records
- 7 Societies and Libraries
- 8 Websites
- 9 References
The County was named for the Indian word meaning "mouth of the big river". The County has Bath as its seat and the County was created February 14, 1854. The County is located in the southwest area of the state.
Sagadahoc County, Maine Record Dates
- Town Clerks have birth, marriage and death records.
- Clerk District Court has divorce records.
- Clerk Superior Court has court records.
- 1854 - Register of Probate has probate records from 1854.
- 1854 - Register of Deeds has land records from 1854. 
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|USGenWeb Archives||WorldCat||Billion Graves|
|See Maine Cemeteries for more information.|
- 1620-2014 - Maine, Tombstone Inscriptions, Surname Index, 1620-2014 at FamilySearch — index
- 1676-1918 - Maine, Veterans Cemetery Records, 1676-1918 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1780-1999 - Maine, J. Gary Nichols Cemetery Collection, ca. 1780-1999 at FamilySearch — index and images
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Maine denominations, view the Maine Church Records wiki page.
Emigration and Immigration
- 1837 - 1965 - Maine & Massachusetts Case Files of Deceased and Deserted Seamen 1837-1965 at FamilySearch - images
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Maine Land and Property for additional information about early Maine land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local histories are available for Sagadahoc County, Maine Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Maine Local Histories.
- 1676 -1918 - Maine, Veterans Cemetery Records, 1676-1918 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1718 - 1957 - Maine, State Archive Collections, 1718-1957 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1835 - 1838 - Maine Revolutionary War Bounty Land Applications 1835-1838 at FamilySearch — index and images
Regiments. Service men in Sagadahoc County, Maine Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Sagadahoc County, Maine Genealogy:
- - 3rd Regiment, Maine Infantry , Company A
World War I
- 1917 - 1919 - Maine, World War I Draft Registration Index, 1917-1919 at FamilySearch — index and images
Naturalization and Citizenship
- 1718-1957 - Maine, State Archive Collections, 1718-1957 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1833-1868 - Maine, Bath, Seamen's Proofs of Citizenship, 1833-1868 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1918-1991 - Maine, United States Naturalization Records, 1918-1991 at FamilySearch — index and images
Finding More Maine Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Sagadahoc County, Maine Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
Online Probate Records
Maine tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.
In Maine, vital records are kept by town clerks or selectmen. Although some towns have existed since the 1650s, most vital records date from about 1700. The vital statistics are often arranged by family. For more information, see the Wiki page for the town and the Wiki page, Maine Vital Records.
- 1589-1966 - Maine, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1670 - 1921 - Maine Vital Records, 1670-1921 at FamilySearch — index and images
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- The Sagadahoc County MEGenWeb Project, an member of The MEGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project.
- The USGenWeb Archives Project for Sagadahoc County
- The USGenWeb Archives Project for Sagadahoc County (backup site)
- FamilySearch.org FamilySearch Catalog for Sagadahoc County
- Wikipedia contributors, "Sagadahoc County, Maine" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sagadahoc_County,_Maine."
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Sagadahoc County, Maine. Page 304-305 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 275.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Sagadahoc County, Maine page 305, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].