To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Saddleworth, Yorkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Saddleworth, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Saddleworth, Yorkshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Agbrigg
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Saddleworth Gilbert Union
Registration District Saddleworth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1632
Bishop's Transcripts: 1612
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ashton Under Lyne
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

SADDLEWORTH cum Quick, a parochial chapelry, in the parish of Rochdale , wapentake of Agbrigg and Morley, W. riding of York, 12 miles (N. E. by E.) from Manchester, and 12 (S. W. by W.) from Huddersfield.. There are places of worship for Independents at Delph, Upper Mill, and Spring-head; and for Wesleyans at Delph, Upper Mill, and Bagulay.[1]

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Saddleworth parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Yorkshire Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP BTs = Yorkshire Bishop's Transcripts of Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Banns = Yorkshire Banns (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Marr = Yorkshire, Archbishop Of York Marriage Licences Index, 1613-1839 (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC 1 = West Yorkshire, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = West Yorkshire, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Saddleworth Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1538-2000
1534-1942
1537-2016
FMP BTs 1558-1914
1558-1899
1560-1919
FMP Banns

1600-1932


FMP Marr

1613-1839


ANC 1 1512-1812
1512-1812
1512-1812
ANC 2 1813-1910
1813-1935
1813-1985
BOYD

1538-1850


NBI



1541-1995
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the West Yorkshire Archive Service.


Saddleworth St Chad's was originally a chapelry standing within the large parish boundary of Rochdale St Chad's just across the Yorkshire/Lancashire border (in Lancashire). It was a parochial chapelry in that it held some ecclesiastical responsibility and oversight over several nearby chapelries, on the Yorkshire side of this (Rochdale) parish, including Delph, Dobcross, Friermere, and Lydgate. The following is a list of all known chapelries lying within the ancient parish boundary of St Chad's Rochdale, including those lying on the Yorkshire-side of the county border:
Online Records

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Contributor:  Please add any additional websites not listed or mentioned above.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 1-4. Date accessed: 16 April 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.