Sabine Parish, Louisiana Genealogy
Guide to Sabine Parish, Louisiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Sabine Parish, Louisiana|
Location in the state of Louisiana
Location of Louisiana in the U.S.
|Founded||March 7, 1843|
|Address|| 400 South Capital|
Many, LA 71449
- 1 Parish Information
- 2 Parish Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places / Localities
- 5 Resources
- 5.1 African American
- 5.2 Bible Records
- 5.3 Biographies
- 5.4 Cemeteries
- 5.5 Census
- 5.6 Church
- 5.7 Court
- 5.8 Land
- 5.9 Local Histories
- 5.10 Maps
- 5.11 Military
- 5.12 Newspapers
- 5.13 Obituaries
- 5.14 Probate
- 5.15 Taxation
- 5.16 Vital Records
- 6 Societies and Libraries
- 7 Websites
- 8 References
The County was named for the Sabine River and Sabine Free State. The County has Many as its seat and the County was created March 27, 1843. The County is located in the northwest area of the state.
Sabine Parish, Louisiana Record Dates
Sabine Parish Police Jury
1227 Hwy 1218
(sponsored site by Sabine Parish Chamber of Commerce)
- Named for Sabine River and Sabine Free State (which existed 1806 to 1821 per agreement between Spanish Texas and United States after Louisiana Purchase. This area was a disputed area. - Wikipedia)
For animated maps illustrating Louisiana Parish boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Louisiana Parish Boundary Maps" (1805-1990) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities
- Towns: Many | Zwolle
- Villages: Converse | Fisher | Florien | Noble | Pleasant Hill
Neighboring Parishes or Counties
- Louisiana African American Griots Project ~ USGenWeb Project
- Afrigeneas - African Ancestored Genealogy
- Sabine Parish Bible Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- Sabine Parish Biographies (Genealogy Trails)
- Index to Sabine Parish Biography Records (USGenWeb Archives)
The following web sites may have additional information on Sabine Parish cemeteries.
- Interment.net Louisiana cemetery records by Parish.
- African American Cemeteries ~ listing by county
|Sabine Parish Census Data|
- 1850 - Sabine Parish 1850 Census (USGenWeb Archives)
- 1860 - Sabine Parish 1860 Census (USGenWeb Archives)
- Louisiana Census Images ~ USGenWeb Census Images Project
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Louisiana denominations, view the Louisiana Church Records wiki page.
- Louisiana Historical Church Information
- Directory of Churches in Louisiana ~ by city ~ Church Angel
- History of the Baptist Church in Sabine Parish (Genealogy Trails)
- Sabine Parish Church Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- Pleasant Hill Baptist Church and Cemetery (LAGenWeb Project)
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Louisiana Land and Property for additional information about early Louisiana land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse where records are also currently housed.
- Sabine Parish Land Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- Louisiana Land Records - Interactive Search (RootsWeb)
Local histories are available for Sabine Parish, Louisiana Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Louisiana Local Histories.
- Louisiana Museums
- Sabine Parish History Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- History of Sabine Parish, Louisiana (Genealogy Trails)
- 1861-1865 - Louisiana Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - Louisiana Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1883 - Sabine Parish Pensioners on the Rolls as of January 1, 1883 (Genealogy Trails)
- 1898-1950 - Louisiana Confederate Pensions, 1898-1950 at FamilySearch — images
Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battle was fought in Sabine Parish:
- Map showing Civil War battles in Louisiana.
World War I
World War II
- 1940-1945 - Louisiana First Registration Draft Cards, compiled 1940-1945 at FamilySearch — index and images
- Honor List of Dead and Missing Army & Army Air Forces Personnel, Sabine Parish, Louisiana (Genealogy Trails)
- Korean War Casualties, Sabine Parish, Louisiana (LAGenWeb Project)
- Vietnam War Casualties, Sabine Parish, Louisiana (LAGenWeb Project)
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Sabine Parish, Louisiana Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- Sabine Parish Obituaries and Death Notices (Genealogy Trails)
- Index to Sabine Parish Obituaries (USGenWeb Archives)
Probate records before 1845 were kept in probate courts. Since 1845, they have been kept by the Sabine Parish, Louisiana Genealogy clerk of the district court. Many of the probate records are included in the notarial records with the deeds and mortgages. In some parishes they are known as “succession” records.
See the Wiki page Louisiana Probate Records for more information about probate records in Louisiana.
Content: Probate records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.
Louisiana Probate Records ~ information on.
Online Probate Records
- 1756 – 1984 Louisiana Wills and Probate Records 1756-1984 at Ancestry.com Ancestry.com — index and images $
Louisiana tax records can be used in place of missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Louisiana Taxation.
Louisiana statewide registration of birth and death records began in 1911. Births and deaths are kept by the Louisiana Vital Records Registry. Marriages were recorded by each parish, and the records are at the parish clerk of court office. See also How to order Louisiana Vital Records or order electronically online.
See Louisiana Vital Records for more information on getting Louisiana records.
- Louisiana Records and Statistics Information ~ where and how to order information.
- 1837–1957 - Louisiana, Parish Marriages, 1837-1957 at FamilySearch — index and images
- Sabine Parish Marriage Records (Genealogy Trails)
- Index to Sabine Parish Marriage Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- 1850-1875, 1894-1960 - Louisiana Deaths, 1850-1875, 1894-1960 at FamilySearch — index and images
- Index to Sabine Parish Funeral Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Societies and Libraries
Central Louisiana Genealogical Society
PO Box 122206
Alexandria, LA 713152206
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Sabine Parish, LA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Louisiana Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Louisiana Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- Sabine Parish, LAGenWeb, part of the USGenWeb Project
- Sabine Parish, Louisiana, USGenWeb Archives Project
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Sabine Parish, Louisiana Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Sabine Parish Genealogy and History (Genealogy Trails)
- Sabine Parish LA Genealogy (LDS Genealogy)
- Wikipedia contributors, "Sabine Parish," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sabine_Parish,_Louisiana."
- Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 264-278. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed., Sabine Parish, Louisiana p 292 (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- United States Census Bureau. "Louisiana Population of Counties by Decennial Census: 1900 to 1990". http://www.census.gov/population/cencounts/la190090.txt. Retrieved 2008-02-02.
- Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State