Sønderborg County, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Sønderborg County, Denmark)
Jump to: navigation, search
Denmark Research Topics
Denmark flag
Beginning Research
Record Types
Denmark Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Denmark
Sønderborg County

Guide to Sønderborg ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

{{{link}}}

History

Sønderborg County is a former province in Denmark, located on the island of Als and the easternmost part of Southern Jutland. Sønderborg County was established in 1920. It was dissolved in 1970 when it merged with three other counties to form South Jutland County. Sønderborg County corresponded geographically to the former Prussian Kreis Sonderburg.
After Denmark surrendered control over Schleswig to Prussia and the Austrian Empire in 1864, the Schleswig island of Ærø was transferred from Augustenborg County to Svendborg County and the island remained Danish. The rest of Augustenborg County was merged with Sønderborg and became Kreis Sonderburg. Sønderborg County and Aabenraa County merged in 1932, forming Aabenraa-Sønderborg County.
[1]

Archives, Societies, and Libraries

(enter archive, society, library contact information)

Census Records

Districts

How to Find Birth, Marriage, and Death Information

Instructions for finding records are found on the individual parish pages, linked to the clickable map and parish list below. .

Parishes

NordborgOksbølHavnbjergSvenstrupEgenNotmarkAsserballeKettingTandsletLysabildKegnæsHørupAugustenborgUlkebølSønderborg CityUllerupSottrupNybølDybbølBroagerEgernsundSonderborg Map.jpg

Map of parishes

Church Records

Probate Records

Estates

  • Augustenborg