To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Söderala Parish, Gävleborg, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Söderala Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Söderala Church

History[edit | edit source]

(write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)

1620 Söderhamn broke off from Söderala, 1828 Maråker broke off from Söderala, 1896 Maråker was incorported in Söderala as a "kapellag" with the name Ljusne, 1914 Bergvik broke off from Söderala, 1917 Ljusne broke off.

Söderala Parish, Gävleborg, Sweden Genealogy
Jurisdictions
Stift Uppsala ärkestift
Pastorat -1620 Söderala, 1620-1635 Söderala och Söderhamn, 1635-1828 Söderala, 1828-1896 Söderala och Maråker (se Ljusne), 1896-1913 Söderala, 1914-1917 Söderala och Bergvik, 1917-1961 Söderala, Ljusne och Bergvik, 1962- Söderala, Ljusne, Bergvik och Mo
Län -1762 Västernorrland, 1762- Gävleborg
Landskap Hälsingland
Härad not applicable
Tingslag -1693 Söderala, 1694-1876 Norrala, 1877-1906 Södra Hälsinglands östra, 1907-1947 Ala, 1948-1970 Sydöstra Hälsinglands domasagas
Domsaga -1770 Hälsingland, 1771-1906 Hälsinglands södra, 1907-1970 Sydöstra Hälsingland, 1971- Sydöstra Hälsinglands tingsrätts, 1972- Bollnäs
Fögderi 1720-1917 Södra Hälsingland, 1918- Söderhamns fögderi
Kommun 1863-1970 Söderala, 1971- Söderhamn
Militär indelning 1:a Norrlands 1:a Kompani
Nya Ord. Båtsmans-Roteringen
Extra Båtsmans-Roteringen
NAD Ref Code SE/HLA/1010201
National Archive SVAR link
Swedish Wikipedia link
SCB Congregation map link
Open Street map link


Place Names[edit | edit source]

Askesta
Berga, Bergvik, Bers,
Dymmelbo, Dåbo (Dåbro),
Ellne, Engbo se Ängbo,
Grundbacka,
Heden, Hov, Hå,
Ina,
Järvsböle,
Kinsta Sunnanhed se Sunnanhed, Kultebo,
Ljusne masugn, Lund, Lynäs,
Mar, Mariedal, Maråker, Maråkers bruk, Myssje,
Norrbyn, Norrljusne, Nybo,
Orsta,
Prästgården,
Renskalla, Ringnäs, Rosenvall,
Siggesta, Skale, Storberget, Sund, Sunnanhed, Sunnanå, Säteråker, Sörljusne,
Valla, Vansäter, Vedtjära,
Åsbo,
Ängbo,
Östansjö

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Online Database Church Records[edit | edit source]

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden[edit | edit source]

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records[edit | edit source]

Click Sweden, Gävleborg Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Sweden, Gävleborg" and then select your parish.

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Related Sources[edit | edit source]

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Help Reading Swedish Records[edit | edit source]

Help Reading Old Handwriting[edit | edit source]

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies[edit | edit source]

Sweden Research Strategies

References[edit | edit source]

Söderala parish, Husförhörslängd AI:15a and AI:15b 1836-1845, Ort register.

Jurisdictional Information from: Riksarkivet. "Söderala Församling." Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). April 2015 http://www.nad.riksarkivet.se/