Ryton, Durham Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Ryton, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ryton, Durham
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chester
County Durham
Poor Law Union Gateshead
Registration District Gateshead
Records begin
Parish registers: 1581
Bishop's Transcripts: 1765
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chester le Street
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

RYTON (Holy Cross), a parish, in the union of Gateshead, E division of Chester ward, N division of the county of Durham.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Ryton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
Ryton Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL

1790-1812


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

  • Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Durham University Library Archives and Special collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/215 Date: March 1765-1867
  • Contents: Including transcripts from Winlaton Mill, 1798-March 1812, and Winlaton St Paul, September 1828-1832 DDR/EA/PBT/2/275
  • Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.
  • The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.
  • The Parish Registers for the period 1581-1986 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/Ryt).
  • FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)


Non Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Presbyterian
  • Roman Catholic
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Genealogy From Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Hancock, Susan. My Elusive Great Grandmother. History, photos and family history of John Aiston, and Madgalene nee Gordon, with the following surnames: Dixon, Peel, Tegget, Shivers, Chivers, Adie, Riddick. Family seems to be scattered, Scotland, Dumfriesshire, Gateshead, Addison, Newcastle Upon Tyne. Article dated 1851-1974, and is found in Northumberland & Durham Family History Society Journal. vol.39.no.4, pages 169-172, Family History Library Ref. 942.8 B2jo vol.39. no.4, (winter 2014)

Chapman, Terence. Monaghans and Mehrtens. History and family records of Joseph Monaghan baptised at St. Andrew, R.C. Church Newcastle upon Tyne, 1823, and his wife Elizabeth Hutchinson born in Sunderland, 1830. Family moved around Orland (sic), Ashington, London, Durham-Ryton. Article dated 1823-1999, and other surnames mentioned in the article are: Overton, Atkinson, Blow, Mehrtens, Anderson, Pigg, Saltmarsh, Eatch, Hall and Harcastle. Article is in the Northumberland & Durham Family History Society Journal, vol 32, no.3. page 105, Family History Library Ref. 942.8 B2jo vol.32.no.3, Autumn 2007

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Ryton on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 719-725. Date accessed: 27 July 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes.