Ryther, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Ryther, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Barwick Gilbert Union|
|Registration District||Selby; Tadcaster|
|Parish registers: 1558|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1603|
|Rural Deanery||City of York and Ainsty|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
RYTHER (All Saints), a parish, partly in the Upper, but chiefly in the Lower, division of the wapentake of Barkstone-Ash, W. riding of York, 6½ miles (N. W. by N.) from Selby; containing, with the township of Lead-Hall, 354 inhabitants, of whom 300 are in the township of Ryther. There is a chapel of ease at Lead-Hall, about six miles distant; and in the village of Ryther is a place of worship for Wesleyans. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Ryther parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Ryther Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs||
|FS Catalog BTs||
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the West Yorkshire Archive Service.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 719-725. Date accessed: 25 October 2013.