Rutland Church Records
|Rutland Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Online Records[edit | edit source]
Large collections of Rutland parish registers are available online in:
Parish Registers[edit | edit source]
Most Rutland parish registers are held at the Leicestershire, Leicester and Rutland Record Office. Parish registers have not been microfilmed. Most bishop's transcripts are held at the Northamptonshire Record Office and are available online at Ancestry (baptisms and burials from 1813-1912) or on microfilm through the Family History Library.
Indexes[edit | edit source]
Ancestry has digitized original bishop's transcripts (baptisms and burials) for most Rutland parishes covering the years 1813 to 1912. The collections include indexes and images in two databases researchers may not think to look at, as they are erroneously labeled 'Northamptonshire:'
Leicestershire & Rutland Family History Society has published transcripts of most Rutland parish registers on CD:
Marriages[edit | edit source]
The place to start Rutland marriage searches is:
Ian Buxton and Audrey Margaret Buxton published Rutland Marriage Index (beg. 1538) on CD: FHL CD-ROM no. 4119.
Leicestershire & Rutland Family History Society published Rutland Marriage Index, 1754-1837: FHL Collection.
Burials[edit | edit source]
Leicestershire & Rutland Family History Society have published two volumes of Rutland burials:
Parish Registers Held by Incumbents[edit | edit source]
The majority of Rutland's parish registers have been deposited at Leicestershire, Leicester and Rutland Record Office. Several parishes; however, have retained their post-1813 baptism and burial registers within their churches, as follows:
Most of Rutland's bishop's transcripts are held at the Northamptonshire Record Office. Ancestry has been digitizing and indexing those records, which can be used as a substitute for parish registers. All parishes whose registers are held by incumbents are represented in these two datasets:
Marriage Licences[edit | edit source]
Rutland residents typically went to Peterborough or Leicester to acquire marriage licences. Peterborough marriage licences are held at the Northamptonshire Record Office and Leicester marriage licences are held at the Leicestershire, Leicester and Rutland Record Office.
Peterborough marriage licences have not been published. A card index is available at the Northamptonshire Record Office.
Early Archdeaconry of Leicester marriage licences (1570-1729) have been published and available online. A card index at the Leicestershire, Leicester and Rutland Record Office covering 1731-1891 has been microfilmed: FHL Films 1517629-1517635.
Ecclesiastical Court[edit | edit source]
Ecclesiastical court records from the Archdeaconry of Leicester have been microfilmed for the years 1526 through 1825. There is no index. These records deal chiefly with fornication, adultery, slander, marriage (within degrees) and divorce. They identify the individuals concerned as well as their places (parish) of residence: FHL Film 1538125 (first of 22 films).
Nonconformists[edit | edit source]
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints[edit | edit source]
Society of Friends[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.