To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Rusk County, Texas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Rusk County, Texas)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Rusk County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


TX ORP.png



Rusk County, Texas
Map
Map of Texas highlighting Rusk County
Location in the state of Texas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Texas
Location of Texas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 16 January, 1843
County Seat Henderson
Courthouse
Address Rusk County Courthouse
PO Box 758
Henderson, TX 75653
Adopt-a-wiki page
Txgenweblogo.GIF This page adopted by:
TXGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today


County Information[edit | edit source]


Rusk County, Texas Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1903 1843 1903 1844 1843 1843 1829
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1903.
General compliance by the 1930s.


County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Rusk County Courthouse
PO Box 758;
Henderson, TX 75653;
Phone. 903.657.0330 

County Clerk has birth and death records from 1903,
marriage, land and probate records from 1843, court
records from 1844 and military discharge records from 1917;
District Court has divorce Court has divorce records from 1844[2]

County Clerk

P.O. Box 758
Henderson 75653-0758
Phone: 903-657-0330
Fax: 903-657-0062

District Clerk

115 N. Main Ste. 301
Henderson 75652
Phone: 903-657-0353

History[edit | edit source]

Parent County[edit | edit source]

1843-- Rusk County was created 16 January 1843 from Nacogdoches County.

  • County seat: Henderson [3]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

1878--Courthouse and many county records were destroyed by fire in March 1878.

Places / Localities[edit | edit source]

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Cherokee  • Gregg  • Harrison  • Nacogdoches  • Panola  • Shelby  • Smith

Resources[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
FindAGrave Family History Library FindAGrave
Linkpendium WorldCat Tombstone Project
BillionGraves (name) Cemeteries of TX
GenWeb Archives Texas Cemeteries
BillionGraves TX Gravestones
TXGenWeb Epodunk
Names in Stone Interment
See Texas Cemeteries for more information.

Census[edit | edit source]

Church[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.


Court[edit | edit source]

Land[edit | edit source]

After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.


Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Rusk County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.

Maps[edit | edit source]

Smith CountyGregg CountyHarrison CountyPanola CountyShelby CountyNacogdoches CountyCherokee CountyTX RUSK.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Military[edit | edit source]

Mexican-American War[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
World War I[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Rusk County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

TX Newspaper Abstracts (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).

Probate[edit | edit source]

Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.

See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Online Probate Records

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.

1846-1910 Texas County Tax Rolls lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

Certified birth and death certificates or birth and death verifications can be ordered online or by mail at the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health. Copies can also be obtained from the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred and are often less expensive. You can also order them online through a third party company.

Marriages records can be obtained from the county the marriage occurred. Only marriage verifications can be obtained from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health.

See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Online Birth Indexes and Records

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Online Marriage Indexes and Records

Death[edit | edit source]

Online Death Indexes and Records

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Rusk County Genealogical Society (non-active)
PO Box 1314
Henderson TX 75653

East Texas Genealogical Society
PO Box 6967
Tyler TX 75711-6967

German-Texan Heritage Society
PO Box 684171
Austin, TX 78768
Eva Barnett
Executive Director
Telephone Number: 512-482-0927
Fax: 866-482-4847

East Texas Research Center
Stephen F. Austin State University
East Texas Research Center
Box 13055, SFA Station
Nacogdoches, TX 75962-3055
Telephone Number: 936-468-4100
E-mail:AskETRC@sfalib.sfasu.edu


Rusk County Library
106 East Main Street
Henderson, TX 75652
Telephone Number: 903-657-8557


The East Texas Research Center is located on the second floor of R. W. Steen Library on the Stephen F. Austin State University Campus.
Regular Hours:
Monday-Friday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Saturday 10:00 a.m. - 6.00 p.m.
Sunday CLOSED
Special hours for intercessions and university holidays are listed on the Library Hours page. Before making a trip from out of town, it is best to check to be sure the East Texas Research Center will be open.

Henderson Area Chamber of Commerce
201 North Main Street
Henderson, Tx 75652
Telephone Number: 903-657-5528 fax: 903-657-9454
E-mail:info@hendersontx.com

National Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution
Texas Chapters
Some District IV Chapters:
Nacogdoches Chapter, Nacogdoches, Texas
Major Thaddeus Beall Chapter, Jacksonville, Texas
Mary Tyler Chapter, Tyler, Texas

Daughters of the Republic of Texas
Some District IV Chapters:
John Tilley Edwards Chapter, Longview, Texas
Stone Fort Chapter, Nacogdoches, Texas
Charles G. Davenport Chapter, Tyler, Texas
Fort Houston Chapter, Palestine, Texas

Texas State Library and Archives Commission
PO Box 12927
Austin, TX 78711
+Capitol Complex
1201 Brazos St
Austin, Texas
+The Sam Houston Center
FM 1011 off Hwy 146
Liberty, TX
Monday through Friday 8am-5pm
and Saturday 9am-4pm


Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


Note: These are physical locations, Family History Centers do not respond to mail queries. 


* Tyler Texas
1617 Shiloh Road
Tyler, TX 75703-2437
Tyler, Smith County, Texas, United States
Phone: 903-509-8322
Hours: T 10am-2pm, 6:30-8pm; W 6pm-8pm; Th 6:30pm-8pm; Sat 10am-2pm.


* Longview, Texas
1700 Blueridge Parkway
Longview, TX 75605
Longview, Gregg/Harrison County, Texas, United States
Phone: 903-297-1349
Hours: M, Sat 9am-5pm; T-Th 6:30pm-8:30pm; Sat 9am-5pm


* Gilmer Texas
1122 West Pine Street
Gilmer, TX 75644-3238
Gilmer, Upshur County, Texas, United States
Phone: 903-843-5805
Hours: M,T,Th,F 9am-1pm, W 6pm-8pm; Sun 10am-4pm according to staff availability.


Websites[edit | edit source]

  • Rusk County TXGenWeb
  • TXGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the county.
  • FamilySearch Catalog — The catalog is genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) This catalog is different than the indexed Historical Records.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Rusk County, Texas . Page 658-677 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 655-665.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Rusk County, Texas. Page 673 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).